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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 

functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 

government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 

regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 

The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 

regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 

public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 

and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 

body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 

date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 

objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 

publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 

proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequen111tial impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 

a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 

time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 

certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 

emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 

Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 

possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at https://register.dls.virginia.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures 

to be followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that 

Article 2 (§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 

Virginia be examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and 

date. 34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, 

Issue 8, pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on 

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to 

Article 6 (§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: Marcus B. Simon, 

Chair; Russet W. Perry, Vice Chair; Katrina E. Callsen; Nicole 

Cheuk; Richard E. Gardiner; Ryan T. McDougle; Michael 

Mullin; Christopher R. Nolen; Steven Popps; Charles S. Sharp; 

Malfourd W. Trumbo; Amigo R. Wade. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Managing 

Editor; Erin Comerford, Regulations Analyst. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4000/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

December 2024 through December 2025 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

41:9 November 26, 2024 (Tuesday) December 16, 2024 

41:10 December 11, 2024 December 30, 2024 

41:11 December 23, 2024 (Monday) January 13, 2025 

41:12 January 8, 2025 January 27, 2025 

41:13 January 22, 2025 February 10, 2025 

41:14 February 5, 2025 February 24, 2025 

41:15 February 19, 2025 March 10, 2025 

41:16 March 5, 2025 March 24, 2025 

41:17 March 19, 2025 April 7, 2025 

41:18 April 2, 2025 April 21, 2025 

41:19 April 16, 2025 May 5, 2025 

41:20 April 30, 2025 May 19, 2025 

41:21 May 14, 2025 June 2, 2025 

41:22 May 28, 2025 June 16, 2025 

41:23 June 11, 2025 June 30, 2025 

41:24 June 25, 2025 July 14, 2025 

41:25 July 9, 2025 July 28, 2025 

41:26 July 23, 2025 August 11, 2025 

42:1 August 6, 2025 August 25, 2025 

42:2 August 20, 2025 September 8, 2025 

42:3 September 3, 2025 September 22, 2025 

42:4 September 17, 2025 October 6, 2025 

42:5 October 1, 2025 October 20, 2025 

42:6 October 15, 2025 November 3, 2025 

42:7 October 29, 2025 November 17, 2025 

42:8 November 10, 2025 (Monday) December 1, 2025 

42:9 November 26, 2025 (Monday) December 15, 2025 

42:10 December 10, 2025 (Tuesday) December 29, 2025 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Criminal Justice Services Board conducted a 

periodic review and a small business impact review of 

6VAC20-120, Regulations Relating to Criminal History 

Record Information Use and Security, and determined that 

this regulation should be amended. The board is publishing its 

report of findings dated November 8, 2024, to support this 

decision. 

Although the regulation is still relevant and written in easily 

understandable language, the Department of Criminal Justice 

Services plans to continue to work with Virginia State Police 

(VSP) to develop language to make the process of sealing and 

expungement more efficient. The department plans to retain 

the regulation, but the department will be issuing a notice of 

intended regulatory action (NOIRA) to make necessary 

amendments. 

The department has considered both the need for the regulation 

as well as the nature of the comment received concerning the 

regulation as currently written. While the regulation does not 

overlap or duplicate federal or state law, amendments have not 

been made in several years, and the department has determined 

that it is appropriate to continue to work with VSP to make the 

regulatory language clearer and more concise, as well as make 

appropriate amendments to align with Chapter 524 of the 2021 

Acts of Assembly. The department's decision to retain and 

amend the regulation does not impact regulations on small 

businesses or create an economic burden. 

Contact Information: Kristi Shalton, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Criminal Justice Services, 1100 Bank Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-7801, or email 

kristi.shalton@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the following regulations are undergoing a periodic 

review and small business impact review: 8VAC20-90, 

Procedure for Adjusting Grievances; 8VAC20-150, 

Management of the Student's Scholastic Record in the 

Public Schools of Virginia; 8VAC20-330, Rules Governing 

Alternative Education; 8VAC20-340, Regulations 

Governing Driver Education; 8VAC20-390, Rules 

Governing Division Superintendent of Schools; 8VAC20-

410, Regulations Governing Allowable Credit for Teaching 

Experience; 8VAC20-580, Regulations for the School 

Breakfast Program; and 8VAC20-760, Regulations 

Governing the Designation of School Divisions of 

Innovation. The review of each regulation will be guided by 

the principles in Executive Order 19 (2022). The purpose of a 

periodic review is to determine whether the regulation should 

be repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. Public 

comment is sought on the review of any issue relating to these 

regulations, including whether each regulation (i) is necessary 

for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for 

the economical performance of important governmental 

functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on small 

businesses in a manner consistent with the stated objectives of 

applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

Public comment period begins December 2, 2024, and ends 

December 23, 2024. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Jim Chapman, Director of Board 

Relations, Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 

101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 750-8750, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 11. GAMING 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the following regulations are undergoing a periodic 

review and small business impact review: 11VAC5-11, Public 

Participation Guidelines; 11VAC5-20, Administration 

Regulations; 11VAC5-31, Licensing Regulations; and 

11VAC5-41, Lottery Game Regulations. The review of each 

regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 

19 (2022). The purpose of a periodic review is to determine 

whether the regulation should be repealed, amended, or 

retained in its current form. Public comment is sought on the 

review of any issue relating to these regulations, including 

whether each regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 

mailto:kristi.shalton@dcjs.virginia.gov
mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
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public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 

performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 

minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins December 2, 2024, and ends 

December 23, 2024. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Amy Roper, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Virginia Lottery, 600 East Main Street, First Floor, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-7133, FAX (804) 692-7325, 

or email aroper@valottery.com. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the following regulation is undergoing a periodic 

review and small business impact review: 24VAC30-540, 

Conveyance of Land and Disposal of Improvements. The 

review of the regulation will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 19 (2022). The purpose of a periodic review 

is to determine whether the regulation should be repealed, 

amended, or retained in its current form. Public comment is 

sought on the review of any issue relating to the regulation, 

including whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the 

protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins December 2, 2024, and ends 

December 23, 2024. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division, 

Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830, or email 

joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

mailto:aroper@valottery.com
mailto:joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF WILDLIFE RESOURCES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: In General (amending 4VAC15-20-50, 

4VAC15-20-130). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Policy Manager, Department 

of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, 

Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 801-8199, or email 

aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) update the department's "List of 

Native and Naturalized Fauna of Virginia" incorporated 

by reference into the regulation; (ii) update the version of 

the federal Endangered and Threatened Animal Species 

referenced in the regulation but remove it from the list of 

documents incorporated by reference into the regulation; 

and (iii) add "domesticated morphs of red cornsnake" to 

the definition of "domestic animal." 

4VAC15-20-50. Definitions; "wild animal," "native 

animal," "naturalized animal," "nonnative (exotic) 

animal," and "domestic animal". 

A. In accordance with § 29.1-100 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following terms shall have the meanings ascribed to them by 

this section when used in regulations of the board: 

"Native animal" means those species and subspecies of 

animals naturally occurring in Virginia, as included in the 

department's 2022 2024 "List of Native and Naturalized Fauna 

of Virginia," with copies available in the headquarters and 

regional offices of the department. 

"Naturalized animal" means those species and subspecies of 

animals not originally native to Virginia that have established 

wild, self-sustaining populations, as included in the 

department's 2022 2024 "List of Native and Naturalized Fauna 

of Virginia," with copies available in the headquarters and 

regional offices of the department. 

"Nonnative (exotic) animal" means those species and 

subspecies of animals not naturally occurring in Virginia, 

excluding domestic and naturalized species. 

The following animals are defined as domestic animals: 

Domestic dog (Canis familiaris), including wolf hybrids. 

Domestic cat (Felis catus), including hybrids with wild 

felines. 

Domestic horse (Equus caballus), including hybrids with 

Equus asinus. 

Domestic ass, burro, and donkey (Equus asinus). 

Domestic cattle (Bos taurus and Bos indicus). 

Domestic sheep (Ovis aries), including hybrids with wild 

sheep. 

Domestic goat (Capra hircus). 

Domestic swine (Sus scrofa), including pot-bellied pig and 

excluding any swine that are wild or for which no claim of 

ownership can be made. 

Llama (Lama glama). 

Alpaca (Lama pacos). 

Camels (Camelus bactrianus and Camelus dromedarius). 

Domesticated races of hamsters (Mesocricetus spp.). 

Domesticated races of mink (Mustela vison) where adults 

are heavier than 1.15 kilograms or their coat color can be 

distinguished from wild mink. 

Domesticated races of guinea pigs (Cavia porcellus). 

Domesticated races of gerbils (Meriones unguiculatus). 

Domesticated races of chinchillas (Chinchilla laniger). 

Domesticated races of rats (Rattus norvegicus and Rattus 

rattus). 

Domesticated races of mice (Mus musculus). 

Domesticated breeds of European rabbit (Oryctolagus 

cuniculus) recognized by the American Rabbit Breeders 

Association, Inc. and any lineage resulting from 

mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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crossbreeding recognized breeds. A list of recognized rabbit 

breeds is available on the department's website. 

Domesticated races of chickens (Gallus). 

Domesticated races of turkeys (Meleagris gallopavo). 

Domesticated races of ducks and geese distinguishable 

morphologically from wild birds. 

Feral pigeons (Columba domestica and Columba livia) and 

domesticated races of pigeons. 

Domesticated races of guinea fowl (Numida meleagris). 

Domesticated races of peafowl (Pavo cristatus). 

Domesticated morphs of red cornsnake (Pantherophis 

guttatus) visibly distinguishable from native red cornsnakes 

based on their unique colors and patterns. 

"Wild animal" means any member of the animal kingdom, 

except domestic animals, including without limitation any 

native, naturalized, or nonnative (exotic) mammal, fish, bird, 

amphibian, reptile, mollusk, crustacean, arthropod, or other 

invertebrate, and includes any hybrid of them these animals, 

except as otherwise specified in regulations of the board, or 

part, product, egg, or offspring of them, or the dead body or 

parts of them thereof. 

B. Exception for red foxes and European rabbits. 

Domesticated red foxes (Vulpes vulpes) having coat colors 

distinguishable from wild red foxes and wild European rabbits 

possessed in captivity on July 1, 2017, may be maintained in 

captivity until the animal dies, but the animal may not be bred 

or sold without a permit from the department. Persons 

possessing domesticated red foxes or European rabbits without 

a permit from the department must declare such possession in 

writing to the department by January 1, 2018. This written 

declaration must include the number of individual animals in 

possession and date acquired, sex, estimated age, coloration, 

and a photograph of each fox or European rabbit. This written 

declaration [ shall ] (i) [ shall ] serve as a permit for possession 

only, (ii) is not transferable, and (iii) must be renewed every 

five years. 

4VAC15-20-130. Endangered and threatened species; 

adoption of federal list; additional species enumerated. 

A. The board hereby adopts the Federal Endangered and 

Threatened Species List, Endangered Species Act of December 

28, 1973 (16 USC §§ 1531-1543), as amended as of 

[ December 28, 2022 April 1, 2024 October 10, 2024 ], and 

declares all species listed thereon to be endangered or 

threatened species in the Commonwealth. Pursuant to 

subdivision 12 of § 29.1-103 of the Code of Virginia, the 

director [ of the department ] is hereby delegated authority to 

propose adoption of modifications and amendments to the 

Federal Endangered and Threatened Species List in 

accordance with the procedures of §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 

of the Code of Virginia. 

B. In addition to the provisions of subsection A of this section, 

the following species are declared endangered or threatened in 

this the Commonwealth and are afforded the protection 

provided by Article 6 (§ 29.1-563 et seq.) of Chapter 5 of Title 

29.1 of the Code of Virginia: 

1. Fish: 

Endangered: 

Dace, Clinch 
Chrosomus sp. cf. 

saylori 

Dace, Tennessee Phoxinus 

tennesseensis 

Darter, sharphead Etheostoma 

acuticeps 

Darter, variegate Etheostoma 

variatum 

Sunfish, blackbanded Enneacanthus 

chaetodon 

Threatened: 

Darter, Carolina Etheostoma collis 

Darter, golden Etheostoma 

denoncourti 

Darter, greenfin Etheostoma 

chlorobranchium 

Darter, western sand Ammocrypta 

clara 

Madtom, orangefin Noturus gilberti 

Paddlefish Polyodon spathula 

Shiner, emerald Notropis 

atherinoides 

Shiner, steelcolor Cyprinella 

whipplei 

Shiner, whitemouth Notropis alborus 

2. Amphibians: 

Endangered: 

Salamander, eastern tiger Ambystoma 

tigrinum 

Threatened: 

Salamander, Mabee's Ambystoma 

mabeei 
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3. Reptiles: 

Endangered: 

Rattlesnake, canebrake (Coastal Plain 

population of timber rattlesnake) 

Crotalus horridus 

Turtle, bog Glyptemys 

muhlenbergii 

Turtle, eastern chicken Deirochelys 

reticularia 

Threatened: 

Lizard, eastern glass Ophisaurus 

ventralis 

Turtle, wood Glyptemys 

insculpta 

4. Birds: 

Endangered: 

Plover, Wilson's Charadrius 

wilsonia 

Rail, black Laterallus 

jamaicensis 

Woodpecker, red-cockaded 
Dryobates 

borealis 

Wren, Bewick's Thryomanes 

bewickii 

Threatened: 

Falcon, peregrine Falco peregrinus 

Shrike, loggerhead Lanius 

ludovicianus 

Sparrow, Bachman's Aimophila 

aestivalis 

Sparrow, Henslow's Ammodramus 

henslowii 

Tern, gull-billed Sterna nilotica 

5. Mammals: 

Endangered: 

Bat, Rafinesque's eastern big-eared Corynorhinus 

rafinesquii 

macrotis 

Bat, little brown Myotis lucifugus 

Bat, tri-colored Perimyotis 

subflavus 

Hare, snowshoe Lepus americanus 

Shrew, American water Sorex palustris 

Vole, rock Microtus 

chrotorrhinus 

6. Mollusks: 

Endangered: 

Coil, rubble Helicodiscus 

lirellus 

Coil, shaggy Helicodiscus 

diadema 

Deertoe Truncilla truncata 

Elephantear Elliptio crassidens 

Elimia, spider Elimia 

arachnoidea 

Floater, brook Alasmidonta 

varicosa 

Ghostsnail, thankless Holsingeria 

unthanksensis 

Heelsplitter, Tennessee Lasmigona 

holstonia 

Lilliput, purple Toxolasma lividus 

Mussel, slippershell Alasmidonta 

viridis 

Pigtoe, Ohio Pleurobema 

cordatum 

Pigtoe, pyramid Pleurobema 

rubrum 

Springsnail, Appalachian Fontigens 

bottimeri 

Springsnail (no common name) Fontigens 

morrisoni 

Supercoil, spirit Paravitrea hera 

Threatened: 

Floater, green Lasmigona 

subviridis 
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Papershell, fragile Leptodea fragilis 

Pimpleback Quadrula 

pustulosa 

Pistolgrip Tritogonia 

verrucosa 

Riversnail, spiny Iofluvialis 

Sandshell, black Ligumia recta 

Supercoil, brown Paravitrea 

septadens 

7. Arthropods: 

Threatened: 

Amphipod, Madison Cave Stygobromus 

stegerorum 

Pseudotremia, Ellett Valley Pseudotremia 

cavernarum 

Xystodesmid, Laurel Creek Sigmoria 

whiteheadi 

C. It shall be unlawful to take, transport, process, sell, or offer for sale within the Commonwealth any threatened or endangered 

species of fish or wildlife except as authorized by law. 

D. The incidental take of certain species may occur in certain circumstances and with the implementation of certain conservation 

practices as described in this subsection: 

Species Location Allowable Circumstances Required Conservation Measures 

Expected 

Incidental 

Take 

Little 

brown 

bat, 

Tri-

colored 

bat 

Statewide Human health risk – need for 

removal of individual animals 

from human-habited structures. 

Between May 15 and August 31, no exclusion of bats 

from maternity colonies, except for human health 

concerns. 

Department-permitted nuisance wildlife control 

operator with department-recognized certification in 

techniques associated with removal of bats. 

Use of exclusion devices that allow individual animals 

to escape. 

Manual collection of individual animals incapable of 

sustaining themselves; transport to a willing and 

appropriately permitted wildlife rehabilitator. 

Little to no 

direct 

lethal 

taking 

expected. 

Public safety or property 

damage risk – need for tree 

removal, application of 

prescribed fire, or other land 

management actions affecting 

known roosts; removal of 

animals from known roosts. 

Hibernacula: no tree removal, use of prescribed fire, or 

other land management action within a 250-foot radius 

buffer area from December 1 through April 30. 

Between September 1 and November 30, increase the 

buffer to a 1/4-mile radius with the following 

conditions: for timber harvests greater than 20 acres, 

retain snags and wolf trees (if not presenting public 

safety or property risk) and small tree groups up to 15 

trees of 3-inch diameter at breast height (dbh) or 

greater, one tree group per 20 acres. Otherwise, 

document the need (public safety, property damage 

risk) for tree removal during this period and verify that 

no known roost trees exist in the buffer area. Tree 

removal and prescribed fire are permitted outside of 

these dates. 

Known roost trees: no tree removal, use of prescribed 

fire, or other land management action within a 150-foot 

radius buffer area from June 1 through July 31, if 

possible. Otherwise, document public safety or property 

damage risk. 

Little to no 

direct 

lethal 

taking 

expected. 
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Department-permitted nuisance wildlife control 

operator with department-recognized certification in 

techniques associated with removal of bats. 

Use of exclusion devices that allow individual animals 

to escape. 

Manual collection of individual animals incapable of 

sustaining themselves; transport to a willing and 

appropriately permitted wildlife rehabilitator. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(4VAC15-20) 

List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of Virginia, April 2022, 

Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources 

Federal Endangered and Threatened Animal Species as of 

December 8, 2022 

List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of Virginia, May 2024, 

Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources 

[ Federal Endangered and Threatened Animal Species as of 

April 1, 2024 ] 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7956; Filed November 12, 2024, 7:11 p.m. 

Action Withdrawn 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-40. Game: In General (adding 

4VAC15-40-310). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

The Board of Wildlife Resources has WITHDRAWN the 

regulatory action for 4VAC15-40, Game: In General, which 

was published as a Proposed Action in 40:21 VA.R. 1782-1783 

June 3, 2024. The purpose of the proposed action was to 

require that deer and bear hunters use global positioning 

system (GPS) tracking with basic capabilities on any dog 

actively engaged in a hunt. This action was withdrawn by the 

board on November 2, 2024, because public comment was 

strongly opposed to its implementation, and the board voted to 

not adopt the proposed regulation. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Policy Manager, Department 

of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Villa Park 3, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 801-8199, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7844; Filed November 2, 2024, 10:19 a.m. 

Action Withdrawn 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-40. Game: In General (adding 

4VAC15-40-320). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

The Board of Wildlife Resources has WITHDRAWN the 

regulatory action for 4VAC15-40, Game: In General, which 

was published as a Proposed Action in 40:21 VA.R. 1783 June 

3, 2024. The purpose of the proposed action was to require 

hunters using dogs to hunt deer or bear to make reasonable 

efforts to prevent the dogs from entering a landowner's 

property and to provide examples of reasonable efforts, when 

reasonable efforts may be discontinued, and when reasonable 

efforts are unnecessary. This action was withdrawn by the 

board on November 2, 2024, because public comment was 

strongly opposed to its implementation, and the board voted to 

not adopt the proposed regulation. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Policy Manager, Department 

of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Villa Park 3, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 801-8199, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7845; Filed November 2, 2024, 10:20 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-320. Fish: Fishing Generally 

(amending 4VAC15-320-25). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Policy Manager, Department 

of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, 

Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 801-8199, or email 

aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) remove two limits on largemouth and 

smallmouth bass; (ii) move authority to set limits for 

coastal striped bass caught in Crane Lake in Suffolk to 

Virginia Marine Resources Commission and disallow 

possession of coastal striped bass in waters of Meherrin, 

Nottoway, Blackwater, North Landing, Northwest, and 

Back Bay; (iii) update limits on chain pickerel, northern 

pike, and muskellunge; (iv) update limits on rock bass and 

Roanoke bass to add Blackwater (Chowan Drainage) to 

the geographic exceptions; (v) and remove bullheads for 

possession. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC15/dibr/List%20of%20Native%20&%20Naturalized%20Fauna%20of%20Virginia%20May%202024-20240722161611.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC15/dibr/List%20of%20Native%20&%20Naturalized%20Fauna%20of%20Virginia%20May%202024-20240722161611.pdf
https://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=11105
https://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=11105
mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
https://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=11110
https://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=11110
mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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4VAC15-320-25. Creel and length limits. 

The creel limits (, including live possession), and the length limits for the various species of fish shall be as follows, unless 

otherwise excepted by posted rules at department-owned or department-controlled waters (see 4VAC15-320-100 D). 

Type of fish 
Subtype or 

location 
Creel and length limits 

Geographic 

exceptions 

Creel or length limits 

for exceptions 

largemouth bass, 

smallmouth bass 

 

5 per day in the aggregate 

(combined) 

No statewide length limits 

Lakes 

Briery Creek Lake No largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 16 to 24 

inches; only 1 

largemouth or 

smallmouth bass per day 

in the aggregate longer 

than 24 inches 

Buggs Island (Kerr) Only 2 of 5 largemouth 

or smallmouth bass in the 

aggregate less than 14 

inches 

Claytor Lake No smallmouth bass less 

than 14 inches 

Flannagan Reservoir No smallmouth bass less 

than 15 inches 

No largemouth bass less 

than 12 inches 

Lake Gaston Only 2 of 5 largemouth 

or smallmouth bass in the 

aggregate less than 14 

inches 

Leesville Reservoir Only 2 of 5 largemouth 

or smallmouth bass in the 

aggregate less than 14 

inches 

Lake Moomaw No largemouth or 

smallmouth bass less 

than 12 inches 

Philpott Reservoir No largemouth or 

smallmouth bass less 

than 12 inches 

Quantico Marine Base 

waters 

No largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 12 to 15 

inches 

Smith Mountain Lake 

and its tributaries 

below Niagara Dam 

Only 2 of 5 largemouth 

or smallmouth bass in the 

aggregate less than 14 

inches 
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Rivers 

Clinch River – within 

the boundaries of 

Scott, Wise, Russell, 

or Tazewell Counties 

No largemouth or 

smallmouth bass less 

than 20 inches; only 1 

largemouth or 

smallmouth bass in the 

aggregate per day longer 

than 20 inches 

Levisa Fork River – 

within the boundaries 

Buchanan County 

No largemouth or 

smallmouth bass less 

than 20 inches; only 1 

largemouth or 

smallmouth bass in the 

aggregate per day longer 

than 20 inches 

Dan River and 

tributaries 

downstream from the 

Union Street Dam, 

Danville 

Only 2 of 5 largemouth 

or smallmouth bass less 

than 14 inches 

James River – 

Confluence of the 

Jackson and 

Cowpasture rivers 

(Botetourt County) 

downstream to the 

14th Street Bridge in 

Richmond 

No largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 14 to 22 

inches; only 1 

largemouth or 

smallmouth bass in the 

aggregate per day longer 

than 22 inches 

New River – Fields 

Dam (Grayson County) 

downstream to the VA 

- WV state line and its 

tributaries Little River 

downstream from Little 

River Dam in 

Montgomery County, 

Big Walker Creek from 

the Norfolk Southern 

Railroad Bridge 

downstream to the New 

River, and Wolf Creek 

from the Narrows Dam 

downstream to the New 

River in Giles County 

(This does not include 

Claytor Lake, which is 

delineated as: The 

upper end of the island 

at Allisonia 

downstream to the 

dam) 

No largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 14 to 22 

inches; only 1 

largemouth or 

smallmouth bass in the 

aggregate per day longer 

than 22 inches 
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North Fork Holston 

River - Rt. 91 bridge 

upstream of Saltville, 

VA downstream to the 

VA - TN state line 

No largemouth or 

smallmouth bass less 

than 20 inches; only 1 

largemouth or 

smallmouth bass in the 

aggregate per day longer 

than 20 inches 

Potomac River - 

Virginia tidal 

tributaries above Rt. 

301 bridge 

No largemouth or 

smallmouth bass less 

than 15 inches from 

March 1 through June 15 

Roanoke (Staunton) 

River - and its 

tributaries below 

Difficult Creek, 

Charlotte County 

Only 2 of 5 largemouth 

or smallmouth bass in the 

aggregate less than 14 

inches 

Shenandoah River, 

South Fork 

Shenandoah River, 

North Fork 

Shenandoah River 

No largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 11 to 14 

inches 

Staunton River - 

 

Leesville Dam 

(Campbell County) 

downstream to the 

mouth of Difficult 

Creek, Charlotte 

County 

No largemouth or 

smallmouth bass less 

than 20 inches; only 1 

largemouth or 

smallmouth bass in the 

aggregate per day longer 

than 20 inches 

Alabama bass, 

spotted bass 
 No statewide daily limit 

No statewide length limit 

  

striped bass landlocked striped 

bass and 

landlocked striped 

bass - white bass 

hybrids 

4 per day in the aggregate 

No fish less than 20 inches 

Buggs Island (Kerr) 

Reservoir, including 

the Staunton 

(Roanoke) River and 

its tributaries to 

Leesville Dam and the 

Dan River and its 

tributaries to Union 

Street Dam (Danville) 

October 1 - May 31: 2 

per day in the aggregate; 

no striped bass or hybrid 

striped bass less than 20 

inches or greater than 26 

inches 

June 1 - September 30: 4 

per day in the aggregate; 

no length limit 

Claytor Lake and its 

tributaries 

September 16 – June 30: 

2 per day in the 

aggregate; no striped bass 
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or hybrid bass less than 

20 inches 

July 1 – September 15: 4 

per day in the aggregate;  

no length limit 

Smith Mountain Lake 

and its tributaries, 

including the Roanoke 

River upstream to 

Niagara Dam 

2 per day in the aggregate 

November 1 - May 31: 

No striped bass 30 to 40 

inches 

June 1 - October 31: No 

length limit 

Lake Gaston 4 per day in the aggregate 

October 1 - May 31: No 

striped bass or hybrid 

striped bass less than 20 

inches 

June 1 - September 30: 

No length limit 

anadromous 

(coastal) striped 

bass above the fall 

line in all coastal 

rivers of the 

Chesapeake Bay 

and Crane Lake 

(City of Suffolk) 

Creel and length limits shall 

be set by the Virginia Marine 

Resources Commission for 

recreational fishing in tidal 

waters 

  

anadromous 

(coastal) in the 

Meherrin, 

Nottoway, 

Blackwater 

(Chowan 

Drainage), North 

Landing and 

Northwest Rivers 

and their 

tributaries plus 

Back Bay 

2 per day 

No striped bass less than 18 

inches 

No possession 

  

white bass 

 

5 per day 

No statewide length limits 

Buggs Island (Kerr) 

Reservoir, including 

the Staunton 

(Roanoke) River and 

its tributaries to 

Leesville Dam and the 

Dan River and its 

tributaries to Union 

Street Dam (Danville) 

10 per day; no white bass 

less than 14 inches 

Lake Gaston 10 per day; no white bass 

less than 14 inches 
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walleye, saugeye 

 

5 per day in the aggregate 

No walleye or saugeye less 

than 18 inches 

Claytor Lake and the 

New River upstream 

of Claytor Lake Dam 

to Fries Dam in 

Grayson County 

2 walleye per day; no 

walleye 19 to 28 inches 

sauger 

 

2 per day 

No statewide length limits 

  

yellow perch 

 

No statewide daily limit 

No statewide length limits 

Lake Moomaw 10 per day 

Below the fall line in 

all coastal rivers of 

the Chesapeake Bay 

No yellow perch less 

than 9 inches; no daily 

limit 

chain pickerel and 

northern pike 

 

5 per day 

No statewide length limits 

Gaston and Buggs 

Island (Kerr) 

Reservoirs 

No daily limit 

northern pike 

 

2 per day 

No pike less than 20 inches 

  

muskellunge 

 

2 1 per day 

No muskellunge less than 30 

40 inches 

New River - Fields 

Dam (Grayson 

County) downstream 

to Claytor Dam, 

including Claytor 

Lake 

1 per day; no 

muskellunge less than 42 

inches 

New River - Claytor 

Dam downstream to 

the VA - WV state 

line 

1 per day 

June 1 - last day of 

February: No 

muskellunge 40 to 48 

inches 

March 1 - May 31: No 

muskellunge less than 48 

inches 

bluegill (bream) 

and other sunfish 

excluding crappie, 

rock bass (redeye) 

and Roanoke bass 

 

50 per day in the aggregate 

No statewide length limits 

Gaston and Buggs 

Island (Kerr) 

Reservoirs, including 

the Staunton (Roanoke) 

River and its tributaries 

to Difficult Creek, 

Charlotte County and 

the Dan River and its 

tributaries to the 

Banister River, Halifax 

County and that portion 

of the New River from 

the VA - NC state line 

downstream to the 

confluence of the New 

and Little Rivers in 

Grayson County 

No daily limit 
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crappie (black or 

white) 

 

25 per day in the aggregate 

No statewide length limits 

Lake Gaston and that 

portion of the New 

River from the VA - 

NC state line 

downstream to the 

confluence of the New 

and Little Rivers in 

Grayson County 

No daily limit 

Buggs Island (Kerr) 

Reservoir, including 

the Staunton 

(Roanoke) River and 

its tributaries to 

Difficult Creek, 

Charlotte County and 

the Dan River and its 

tributaries to the 

Banister River, 

Halifax County 

No crappie less than 9 

inches 

Briery Creek and 

Sandy River 

Reservoirs 

No crappie less than 9 

inches 

Flannagan and South 

Holston Reservoirs 

No crappie less than 10 

inches 

rock bass (redeye) 

 

25 per day; in the aggregate 

with Roanoke bass 

No statewide length limits 

Gaston and Buggs 

Island (Kerr) 

Reservoirs and that 

portion of the New 

River from the VA - 

NC state line 

downstream to the 

confluence of the New 

and Little Rivers in 

Grayson County 

No daily limit 

Nottoway, Meherrin, 

Blackwater (Franklin 

County), Blackwater 

(Chowan Drainage), 

Falling, and Smith 

Rivers and their 

tributaries 

5 per day in the aggregate 

with Roanoke bass; 

no rock bass less than 8 

inches 

Roanoke bass 

 

25 per day in the aggregate 

with rock bass 

No statewide length limits 

Nottoway, Meherrin, 

Blackwater (Franklin 

County), Blackwater 

(Chowan Drainage), 

Falling, and Smith 

Rivers and their 

tributaries 

5 per day in the aggregate 

with rock bass; 

no Roanoke bass less 

than 8 inches 
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trout See 4VAC15-330. Fish: Trout Fishing.  

catfish channel, white, 

and flathead 

catfish 

20 per day; 

No length limits 

All rivers below the 

fall line 

No daily limit 

blue catfish 20 per day; 

No statewide length limits 

Lake Gaston No daily limit, except 

only 1 blue catfish per 

day longer than 32 inches 

Kerr Reservoir, 

including the Staunton 

(Roanoke) River and 

its tributaries to 

Difficult Creek, 

Charlotte County and 

the Dan River and its 

tributaries to the 

Banister River, 

Halifax County 

20 per day, except only 1 

blue catfish per day 

longer than 32 inches 

James River and its 

tributaries below the 

fall line, 

Rappahannock River 

and its tributaries 

below the fall line, 

and York River and 

its tributaries 

(including the 

Pamunkey River and 

Mattaponi River) 

below the fall line 

No daily limit, except 

only 1 blue catfish per 

day longer than 32 inches 

All rivers below the 

fall line other than the 

James River and its 

tributaries, 

Rappahannock River 

and its tributaries, and 

the York River and its 

tributaries 

No daily limit 

yellow, brown, and 

black bullheads 

No daily limit; 

No length limits 

  

hickory shad 

Above and below 

the fall line in all 

coastal rivers of 

the Chesapeake 

Bay 

Creel and length limits shall 

be the same as those set by 

the Virginia Marine 

Resources Commission in 

tidal rivers 

  

 

Meherrin River 

below Emporia 

Dam Nottoway 

River, Blackwater 

River (Chowan 

Drainage), North 

10 per day 

No length limits 
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Landing and 

Northwest Rivers, 

and their 

tributaries plus 

Back Bay 

American shad 

 

No possession 

  

anadromous 

(coastal) alewife 

and blueback 

herring 

Above and below 

the fall line in all 

coastal rivers of 

the Chesapeake 

Bay 

Creel and length limits shall 

be the same as those set by 

the Virginia Marine 

Resources Commission for 

these species in tidal rivers 

  

Meherrin River, 

Nottoway River, 

Blackwater River 

(Chowan 

Drainage), North 

Landing and 

Northwest Rivers, 

and their 

tributaries plus 

Back Bay 

No possession 

  

red drum Back Bay and 

tributaries 

including Lake 

Tecumseh and the 

North Landing 

River and its 

tributaries 

1 per day 

No drum less than 18 inches 

or greater than 27 inches 

  

spotted sea trout 

(speckled trout) 

Back Bay and 

tributaries 

including Lake 

Tecumseh and the 

North Landing 

River and its 

tributaries 

4 per day 

No sea trout less than 14 

inches 

  

grey trout 

(weakfish) 

Back Bay and 

tributaries 

including Lake 

Tecumseh and 

North Landing 

River and its 

tributaries 

1 per day 

No grey trout less than 12 

inches 

  

southern flounder Back Bay and 

tributaries 

including Lake 

Tecumseh and the 

North Landing 

River and its 

tributaries 

6 per day 

No flounder less than 15 

inches 
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northern snakehead 

 

Anglers may possess 

snakeheads taken from 

Virginia waters if they 

immediately kill the fish and 

notify the headquarters or a 

regional office of the 

department; notification may 

be made by telephoning 

(804) 367-2925 

No statewide daily limit 

No statewide length limits 

  

longnose gar 

 

July 1 to April 14: 5 per day 

April 15 to June 30: 1 per 

day 

No statewide length limits 

  

bowfin 

 

July 1 to April 14: 5 per day 

April 15 to June 30: 1 per 

day 

No statewide length limits 

  

American eel 

 

25 per day 

No eel less than 9 inches 

Back Bay and North 

Landing River 

No possession limit for 

those individuals 

possessing a permit 

obtained under 4VAC15-

340-80 

other native or 

naturalized 

nongame fish 

See 4VAC15-360-10. Fish: Aquatic Invertebrates, 

Amphibians, Reptiles, and Nongame Fish. Taking 

aquatic invertebrates, amphibians, reptiles, and 

nongame fish for private use. 

 

endangered or 

threatened fish 

See 4VAC15-20-130. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: In General. Endangered and 

threatened species; adoption of federal list; 

additional species enumerated. 

 

nonnative (exotic) 

fish 

See 4VAC15-30-40. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, Sale, 

Etc., of Animals. Importation requirements, 

possession and sale of nonnative (exotic) animals. 

 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7952; Filed November 12, 2024, 7:12 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-330. Fish: Trout Fishing 

(amending 4VAC15-330-150, 4VAC15-330-160). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2025. 

 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Policy Manager, Department 

of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, 

Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 801-8199, or email 

aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) add Russell and Washington Counties 

to the list of areas where it is lawful year-round to fish for 

trout using only artificial lures with single hooks in Big 

Tumbling Creek and (ii) reduce the stretch of Chestnut 

Creek where it is lawful to fish from October 1 through 

May 31 using only artificial lures. 

mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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4VAC15-330-150. Special provision applicable to trout 

fishing using artificial lures with single hook. 

It shall be lawful year-round to fish for trout using only 

artificial lures with single hooks within: 

1. The Stewarts Creek Trout Management Area in Carroll 

County. 

2. The Rapidan and Staunton Rivers and their tributaries 

upstream from a sign at the Lower Shenandoah National 

Park boundary in Madison County. 

3. The Dan River and its tributaries between the Townes 

Dam and the Pinnacles Hydroelectric Project powerhouse in 

Patrick County. 

4. The East Fork of Chestnut Creek (Farmers Creek) and its 

tributaries upstream from the Blue Ridge Parkway in 

Grayson and Carroll Counties. 

5. Roaring Fork and its tributaries upstream from the 

southwest boundary of Beartown Wilderness Area in 

Tazewell County. 

6. That section of the South Fork Holston River and its 

tributaries from the concrete dam at Buller Fish Culture 

Station downstream to the lower boundary of the Buller Fish 

Culture Station in Smyth County. 

7. North Creek and its tributaries upstream from a sign at the 

George Washington National Forest North Creek 

Campground in Botetourt County. 

8. Spring Run from it its confluence with Cowpasture River 

upstream to a posted sign at the discharge for Coursey 

Springs Hatchery in Bath County. 

9. Venrick Run and its tributaries within the Big Survey 

Wildlife Management Area and Town of Wytheville 

property in Wythe County. 

10. Brumley Creek and its tributaries from the Hidden 

Valley Wildlife Management Area boundary upstream to the 

Hidden Valley Lake Dam in Washington County. 

11. Stony Creek (Mountain Fork) and its tributaries within 

the Jefferson National Forest in Wise and Scott Counties 

from the outlet of High Knob Lake downstream to the 

confluence of Chimney Rock Fork and Stony Creek. 

12. Little Stony Creek and its tributaries within the Jefferson 

National Forest in Scott County from the Falls of Little 

Stony Creek downstream to a posted sign at the Hanging 

Rock Recreation Area. 

13. Little Tumbling Creek and its tributaries within the 

Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management Area in Smyth and 

Tazewell Counties downstream to the concrete bridge. 

14. Big Tumbling Creek and its tributaries within the Clinch 

Mountain Wildlife Management Area in Russell, Smyth 

County, and Washington Counties from a sign starting at the 

foot of the mountain and extending upstream seasonally 

from October 1 until five days prior to the first Saturday in 

April. 

15. South River in the City of Waynesboro from the Wayne 

Avenue Bridge downstream 2.2 miles to the Second Street 

Bridge. 

16. Wolf Creek and its tributaries within the Abingdon 

Muster Grounds in the Town of Abingdon from Colonial 

Road downstream to Stone Mill Road. 

17. Beaver Creek and its tributaries within the boundaries of 

Sugar Hollow Park in the City of Bristol. 

18. Green Cove Creek in Washington County from Route 

859 downstream to its mouth. 

19. Whitetop Laurel Creek in Washington County upstream 

from the mouth of Straight Branch to a sign posted at the 

Forest Service boundary just downstream of Taylor Valley, 

and in Whitetop Laurel Creek in Washington County 

upstream from the first railroad trestle above Taylor Valley 

to the mouth of Green Cove Creek at Creek Junction. 

20. Smith Creek in Alleghany County from the Clifton Forge 

Dam downstream to a sign at the Forest Service boundary 

above the C & O Dam. 

21. Snake Creek in Carroll County below Hall Ford and that 

portion of Little Snake Creek below the junction of Routes 

922 and 674, downstream to Route 58. 

22. The North Fork Moormans River and its tributaries from 

the head of Sugar Hollow Reservoir upstream 0.3 miles to 

the Shenandoah National Park boundary. 

All trout caught in these waters must be immediately returned 

to the water. No trout or bait may be in possession at any time 

in these areas. 

4VAC15-330-160. Special provisions applicable to certain 

portions of Accotink Creek, Back Creek, Big Moccasin 

Creek, Chestnut Creek, Hardy Creek, Holliday Creek, 

Holmes Run, Indian Creek, North River, Passage Creek, 

Pedlar River, Piney River, North Fork of Pound and Pound 

rivers, Middle Fork of Powell River, and Roanoke River. 

It shall be lawful to fish from October 1 through May 31, both 

dates inclusive, using only artificial lures in Accotink Creek 

(Fairfax County) from King Arthur Road downstream 3.1 

miles to Route 620 (Braddock Road), in Back Creek (Bath 

County) from the Route 600 bridge just below the Virginia 

Power Back Creek Dam downstream 1.5 miles to the Route 

600 bridge at the lower boundary of the Virginia Power 

Recreational Area, in Big Moccasin Creek (Scott County) from 

the Virginia Department of Transportation foot bridge 

downstream approximately 1.9 miles to the Wadlow Gap 

Bridge, in Chestnut Creek (Carroll County) from the U.S. 

Route 58 bridge downstream 11.4 approximately 4.2 miles to 

the confluence with downstream boundary of the New River 
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Trail State Park Cliffview Campground, in Hardy Creek (Lee 

County) from the Virginia Department of Transportation 

swinging bridge just upstream of the Route 658 ford 

downstream to the Route 661 bridge, in Holliday Creek 

(Appomattox/Buckingham Counties) from the Route 640 

crossing downstream 2.8 miles to a sign posted at the 

headwaters of Holliday Lake, in Holmes Run (Fairfax County) 

from the Lake Barcroft Dam downstream 1.2 miles to a sign 

posted at the Alexandria City line, in Indian Creek within the 

boundaries of Wilderness Road State Park (Lee County), in the 

North River (Augusta County) from the base of Elkhorn Dam 

downstream 1.5 miles to a sign posted at the head of Staunton 

City Reservoir, in Passage Creek (Warren County) from the 

lower boundary of the Front Royal State Hatchery upstream 

0.9 miles to the Shenandoah/Warren County line, in the Pedlar 

River (Amherst County) from the City of Lynchburg/George 

Washington National Forest boundary line (below Lynchburg 

Reservoir) downstream 2.7 miles to the boundary line of the 

George Washington National Forest, in the Piney River 

(Nelson County) in that portion of stream from the Piney River 

Trailhead (Route 151) to the Rose Mill Trailhead (Route 674) 

adjacent to the Blue Ridge Railway Trail, in North Fork of 

Pound and Pound rivers from the base of North Fork of Pound 

Dam downstream to the confluence with Indian Creek, in the 

Middle Fork of Powell River (Wise County) from the old train 

trestle at the downstream boundary of Appalachia extending 

approximately 1.9 miles downstream to the trestle just 

upstream of the Town of Big Stone Gap, in the Roanoke River 

(Roanoke County) from the Route 760 bridge (Diuguids Lane) 

upstream 1.0 miles to a sign posted at the upper end of Green 

Hill Park (Roanoke County), and in the Roanoke River (City 

of Salem) from the Route 419 bridge upstream 2.2 miles to the 

Colorado Street bridge. From October 1 through May 31, all 

trout caught in these waters must be immediately returned to 

the water unharmed, and it shall be unlawful for any person to 

have in possession any bait or trout. During the period of June 

1 through September 30, the above restrictions will not apply. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7948; Filed November 12, 2024, 7:12 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-360. Fish: Aquatic 

Invertebrates, Amphibians, Reptiles, and Nongame Fish 

(amending 4VAC15-360-10). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Policy Manager, Department 

of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, 

Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 801-8199, or email 

aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments remove bullheads from the list of species 

that may be taken for private use in unlimited numbers 

from inland waters statewide. 

4VAC15-360-10. Taking aquatic invertebrates, 

amphibians, reptiles, and nongame fish for private use. 

A. Possession limits. Except as otherwise provided for in 

§ 29.1-418 of the Code of Virginia, 4VAC15-20-130, 

4VAC15-320-40, and the sections of this chapter, it shall be 

lawful to capture and possess live for private use and not for 

sale or export no more than one individual of any native or 

naturalized, as defined in 4VAC15-20-50, species of 

amphibian or reptile per physical address, and 20 individuals 

of any single native or naturalized (, as defined in 4VAC15-20-

50), species of aquatic invertebrate and nongame fish unless 

specifically listed in this subsection: 

1. The following species may be taken in unlimited numbers 

from inland waters statewide: carp, mullet, yellow bullhead, 

brown bullhead, black bullhead, flat bullhead, snail 

bullhead, white sucker, northern hogsucker, gizzard shad, 

threadfin shad, blueback herring (see 4VAC15-320-25 for 

anadromous blueback herring limits), white perch, yellow 

perch, alewife (see 4VAC15-320-25 for anadromous alewife 

limits), stoneroller (hornyhead), fathead minnow, golden 

shiner, goldfish, and Asian clams. Grass carp may only be 

harvested in unlimited numbers from public inland rivers 

and streams of the Commonwealth. It is unlawful to harvest 

grass carp from any public inland lake and reservoir. Anglers 

taking grass carp must ensure that all harvested grass carp 

are dead. 

2. See 4VAC15-320-25 for American shad, hickory shad, 

channel catfish, white catfish, flathead catfish, and blue 

catfish limits. 

3. For the purpose of this chapter, "fish bait" shall be defined 

as native or naturalized species of minnows and chubs 

(Cyprinidae), crayfish, and hellgrammites. The possession 

limit for taking "fish bait" shall be 50 individuals in 

aggregate, of which no more than 20 individuals may be 

crayfish, unless said the person has purchased "fish bait" and 

has a receipt specifying the number of individuals purchased 

by species, except salamanders and crayfish, which cannot 

be sold pursuant to the provisions of 4VAC15-360-60 and 

4VAC15-360-70. However, stonerollers (hornyheads), 

fathead minnows, golden shiners, and goldfish may be taken 

and possessed in unlimited numbers as provided for in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

4. Any crayfish collected for use as fish bait may only be 

used as fish bait in the water body of capture. 
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5. The daily limit for bullfrogs shall be 15 and for snapping 

turtles shall be five. Snapping turtles shall only be taken 

from June 1 to September 30 and must have a minimum 

curved-line carapace length of 13 inches. Bullfrogs and 

snapping turtles may not be taken from the banks or waters 

of designated stocked trout waters. 

6. The following species may not be taken or possessed in 

any number for private use: red-eared slider and all reptile 

and amphibian Species of Greatest Conservation Need 

designated in Virginia's 2015 Wildlife Action Plan. 

7. Native amphibians and reptiles, as defined in 4VAC15-

20-50, that are captured within the Commonwealth and 

possessed live for private use and not for sale may be 

liberated under the following conditions: 

a. Period of captivity does not exceed 30 days; 

b. Animals must be liberated at the site of capture; 

c. Animals must have been housed separately from other 

wild-caught and domestic animals; and 

d. Animals that demonstrate symptoms of disease or 

illness or that have sustained injury during their captivity 

may not be released. 

8. Native or naturalized amphibians and reptiles, as defined 

in 4VAC15-20-50, may not be taken or possessed in any 

number from state or federal land without an appropriate 

permit or license. 

B. Methods of taking species in subsection A of this section. 

Except as otherwise provided for in the Code of Virginia, 

4VAC15-20-130, 4VAC15-320-40, and other regulations of 

the board, and except in any waters where the use of nets is 

prohibited, the species listed in subsection A of this section 

may only be taken (i) by hand, hook, and line; (ii) with a seine 

not exceeding four feet in depth by 10 feet in length; (iii) with 

an umbrella type net not exceeding five by five feet square; (iv) 

by small minnow traps with throat openings no larger than one 

inch in diameter; (v) with cast nets; and (vi) with hand-held 

bow nets with diameter not to exceed 20 inches and handle 

length not to exceed eight feet (such. Such cast net and hand-

held bow nets when so used shall not be deemed dip nets under 

the provisions of § 29.1-416 of the Code of Virginia). Gizzard 

shad and white perch may also be taken from below the fall 

line in all tidal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay using a gill net in 

accordance with Virginia Marine Resources Commission 

recreational fishing regulations. Bullfrogs may also be taken 

by gigging or bow and arrow and, from private waters, by 

firearms no larger than .22 caliber rimfire. Snapping turtles 

may be taken for personal use with hoop nets not exceeding six 

feet in length with a throat opening not exceeding 36 inches. 

C. Areas restricted from taking mollusks. Except as provided 

for in §§ 29.1-418 and 29.1-568 of the Code of Virginia, it shall 

be unlawful to take the spiny riversnail (Io fluvialis) in the 

Tennessee drainage in Virginia (Clinch, Powell, and the North, 

South, and Middle Forks of the Holston Rivers and tributaries). 

It shall be unlawful to take mussels from any inland waters of 

the Commonwealth. 

D. Areas restricted from taking crustaceans. Except for the 

permitted collection of specimens as provided for in § 29.1-

418 of the Code of Virginia or the permitted taking for 

zoological, educational, or scientific purposes as provided for 

in § 29.1-568 of the Code of Virginia, it shall be unlawful to 

take any species of crayfish in the Big Sandy River Basin in 

Virginia (Russell Fork, Pound River, Cranes Nest River, 

McClure River, Levisa Fork, Dismal Creek, Knox Creek, and 

tributaries). 

E. Reduction of possession limits for native and naturalized 

amphibians and reptiles. Any person in possession of legally-

obtained legally obtained native and naturalized amphibians 

and reptiles, as defined in 4VAC15-20-50, prior to the change 

in personal possession allowances in subsection A of this 

section, effective July 1, 2021, must declare such possession to 

the department by January 1, 2022, in a manner prescribed by 

the department. This declaration shall serve as authorization 

for possession only and is not transferable. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7951; Filed November 12, 2024, 7:13 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 29.1-701 E of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides that the board shall promulgate regulations to 

supplement Chapter 7 (§ 29.1-700 et seq.) of Title 29.1 of the 

Code of Virginia as prescribed in Article 1 (§ 29.1-500 et seq.) 

of Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-380. Watercraft: Motorboat 

Numbering (amending 4VAC15-380-30, 4VAC15-380-40). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-701 and 29.1-735 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Policy Manager, Department 

of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, 

Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 801-8199, or email 

aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) align the Department of Wildlife 

Resources regulation regarding motorboat numbering 

with the Code of Federal Regulations and (ii) codify 

current procedure for department identification of rental 

boats. 

4VAC15-380-30. Numbering pattern. 

The motorboat number assigned shall consist of the symbol 

"VA" identifying the Commonwealth followed by not more 

than four arabic Arabic numerals and two capital letters, in 

sequence, separated by a hyphen or equivalent letter space that 

is greater than "I" or "1" and is in accordance with the serial 
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numerically and alphabetically; e.g., for example, "VA 1234 

BB" or "VA-1234-BB." Since the letters "I," "O," and "Q" may 

be mistaken for arabic Arabic numbers, all letter sequences 

using "I," "O," and "Q" shall be omitted. 

Any vessel used as a rental or livery or leased as specified in 

the Application for Watercraft Certificate of Title and 

Certificate of Number (Registration) shall be registered with 

the suffix RB, BR, or LB or a suffix designated by the 

department. Only owners of vessels specified with the primary 

operation as rent, lease, or livery on the Application for 

Watercraft Certificate of Title and Certificate of Number 

(Registration) are considered by the department to be rental or 

leased boat companies. Only vessels specified with the primary 

operation as rent, lease, or livery are considered rental, leased, 

or livery motorboats.  

4VAC15-380-40. Display of numbers. 

The numbers assigned for a motorboat shall be painted on or 

attached to each side of the forward half of the vessel to which 

the numbers are issued in such a position as to provide clear 

legibility for identification;, provided, that on vessels so 

configured that a number on the hull or superstructure would 

not be easily visible or the numbers would not remain securely 

attached, the number must be painted on or attached to a 

backing plate that is attached to the forward half of the vessel 

so that the number is visible from each side of the vessel. The 

numbers shall read from left to right and shall be in block 

characters of good proportion not less than and three inches in 

height. The numbers shall be a color which that will contrast 

with the color of the background and so maintained as to be 

clearly visible and legible; i.e., that is, dark numbers on a light 

background or light numbers on a dark background. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, General 

Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (4VAC15-380) 

Application for duplicate validation decals, #DVD-7-93-IM. 

Application for change of motor, MCH-9/91-IM. 

Notification of change in status of a numbered vessel. 

Affidavit of authority to transfer registration when registered 

owner is deceased. 

Application for Duplicate Certificate of Boat Number, 

BC/DCT-2m (eff. 9/93). 

Application for Watercraft Certificate of Title and Certificate 

of Number (rev. 8/2023) 

Application for Duplicate Registration, Decal, Title, BRT-

011 (rev. 12/2020) 

Application for Change of Motor, BRT-012 (rev. 2/2023) 

Affidavit of Authority to Transfer Registration when 

Registered Owner Is Deceased, BRT-003 (rev. 12/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7953; Filed November 12, 2024, 7:13 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 29.1-701 E of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides that the board shall promulgate regulations to 

supplement Chapter 7 (§ 29.1-700 et seq.) of Title 29.1 of the 

Code of Virginia as prescribed in Article 1 (§ 29.1-500 et seq.) 

of Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-390. Watercraft: Safe and 

Reasonable Operation of Vessels (amending 4VAC15-390-

10, 4VAC15-390-85, 4VAC15-390-140). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-701 and 29.1-735 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Policy Manager, Department 

of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, 

Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 801-8199, or email 

aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) correct the citation to the Inland 

Navigation Rules found at 33 CFR Parts 83 through 88, 

as established by the U.S. Coast Guard and (ii) clarify 

language prohibiting operation of a motorboat with 

passengers riding or sitting on the bow, gunwales, or 

transom or on the decking over the bow of the vessel 

without adequate guards or railing. 

4VAC15-390-10. Applicability. 

The following sections in this chapter apply to the operation 

of "vessels," as defined in § 29.1-700 of the Code of Virginia, 

on all waters within the Commonwealth. Vessels complying 

with the Inland Navigation Rules, 33 CFR Parts 83, 84, and 86, 

87, and 88, as established by the U.S. Coast Guard, are 

considered to be in compliance with the requirements of this 

chapter. 

4VAC15-390-85. Operators to give right-of-way and 

reduce speed. 

Every motorboat, when approaching or passing within 200 

feet of any law-enforcement vessel or emergency services 

vessel that is displaying flashing blue, red, or public safety 

lights, as defined in 33 CFR Part 88, shall slow to no wake 

speed so that the effect of the wake does not disturb the 

activities of law-enforcement personnel or emergency services 

personnel. Where the operator of a motorboat fails to comply 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC15/forms/Application%20for%20Watercraft%20Certificate%20of%20Title%20and%20Certificate%20of%20Number%20(rev.%208-2023)-20241114141543.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC15/forms/Application%20for%20Watercraft%20Certificate%20of%20Title%20and%20Certificate%20of%20Number%20(rev.%208-2023)-20241114141543.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC15/forms/Application%20for%20duplicate%20Registration,%20Decal,%20Title,%20BRT-011%20(rev.%2012-2020)-20240723112340.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC15/forms/Application%20for%20duplicate%20Registration,%20Decal,%20Title,%20BRT-011%20(rev.%2012-2020)-20240723112340.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC15/forms/Application%20for%20change%20of%20motor,%20BRT-012%20(rev.%202-2023)-20240723112443.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC15/forms/Affidavit%20of%20authority%20to%20transfer%20registration%20when%20registered%20owner%20is%20deceased,%20BRT-003%20(rev.%2012-2020)-20240723112613.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC15/forms/Affidavit%20of%20authority%20to%20transfer%20registration%20when%20registered%20owner%20is%20deceased,%20BRT-003%20(rev.%2012-2020)-20240723112613.pdf
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with the provisions of this section and such failure endangers 

the life or limb of any person or endangers or damages vessels, 

the operator shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. Upon 

conviction, the operator shall additionally be required to 

complete and pass a National Association of State Boating Law 

Administrators approved safe boating course as required in 

§ 29.1-746 of the Code of Virginia. 

4VAC15-390-140. Riding on decks and gunwales. 

It shall be unlawful for the operator of a motorboat to allow 

operate a vessel while any person to ride or sit is riding or 

sitting on the bow, gunwales, or transom, or on the decking 

over the bow of the vessel while under power unless such 

motorboat is provided with adequate guards or railing to 

prevent passengers from falls overboard. Nothing in this 

section shall be construed to mean that passengers or other 

persons aboard a watercraft cannot occupy these areas of the 

vessel to moor or anchor the watercraft, to cast off, or for any 

other necessary purpose. Any person who violates any 

provision of this section shall be guilty of a Class 1 

misdemeanor as provided by § 29.1-738 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7954; Filed November 12, 2024, 7:14 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 29.1-701 E of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides that the board shall promulgate regulations to 

supplement Chapter 7 (§ 29.1-700 et seq.) of Title 29.1 of the 

Code of Virginia as prescribed in Article 1 (§ 29.1-500 et seq.) 

of Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-420. Watercraft: Navigation 

Lights and Shapes (amending 4VAC15-420-10). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-701 and 29.1-735 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Policy Manager, Department 

of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, 

Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 801-8199, or email 

aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment corrects the citation to the Inland 

Navigation Rules found at 33 CFR Parts 83 through 88 as 

established by the U.S. Coast Guard. 

4VAC15-420-10. Application. 

The navigation lights requirements in this chapter shall be 

complied with in all weather and from sunset to sunrise on the 

public waters of the Commonwealth. During such times no 

other lights shall be exhibited, except such lights as cannot be 

mistaken for the lights specified in this chapter or do not impair 

their visibility or distinctive character, or interfere with the 

keeping of a proper lookout. The lights prescribed by this 

chapter shall, if carried, also be exhibited from sunrise to 

sunset in restricted visibility and may be exhibited in all other 

circumstances when it is deemed necessary. The lights 

specified in this chapter shall comply with the Navigation 

Rules found in 33 CFR Parts 83, 84, and 86, 87, and 88 as 

established by the U.S. Coast Guard. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7955; Filed November 12, 2024, 7:14 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-20. Rules Relating to 

Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for Law-

Enforcement Officers (amending 6VAC20-20-21, 6VAC20-

20-40). 

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 20, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Kristi Shalton, Law Enforcement Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice Services, 1100 

Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-7801, 

FAX (804) 786-0410, or email 

kristi.shalton@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia gives the 

Criminal Justice Services Board authority to adopt regulations 

to require the submission of reports and information by law-

enforcement officers in the Commonwealth. 

Purpose: This action directly impacts the health, safety, and 

welfare of the public and the Commonwealth because it affects 

the training of new law-enforcement officers. Increased 

training, especially in topics that are legislatively mandated, 

benefits both the police and deputies receiving the information 

at the academies across Virginia, but also the public at large. 

Substance: Substantial changes and improvements will be 

made and applied to the performance outcomes, training 

objectives, testing criteria, and lesson plan guides in each 

individual category of training. The proposed amendments 

include enhanced training in community policing, verbal de-

escalation, implicit bias, duty to intervene, conflict resolution 

skills with a concentration on individuals with mental illness, 

historical events that have influenced citizen and police 

relationships, and the establishment of a new category of 

training, Officer Wellness. The proposed amendments improve 

and update language, in addition to amending the existing 

number of field training hours required for new law-

mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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enforcement officers in Virginia, as recommended by the Law-

Enforcement Curriculum Review Committee and the subject 

matter experts that the department has continued to work with 

on this project. Additionally, as recommended by law-

enforcement personnel throughout the state in multiple 

meetings conducted by the department soliciting input, this 

action will also increase the time required for the completion 

of training from 12 months to 18 months from the law-

enforcement officer's date of hire, benefiting all agencies and 

departments throughout the Commonwealth. 

Issues: There are no disadvantages to this action that affect 

individual private citizens, businesses, other agencies within 

the Commonwealth, or government officials. Advantages of 

the proposed amendments include improved, more efficient 

training for new law-enforcement officers, regardless of what 

agency has hired them or which criminal justice training 

academy the law-enforcement officers report or are assigned 

to. There are no disadvantages to the public for this action. In 

addition to the enhanced training, insertion of legislatively 

mandated topics into the training standards themselves ensures 

that all academies across Virginia are utilizing the same 

standards as a minimum required starting point. By replacing 

the DIBR with the most current training standards for new law-

enforcement officers, the public will experience enhanced 

transparency and have an easier time locating how police and 

sheriff's deputies are trained in the Commonwealth. For 

academies, there will now be more cohesiveness in what is 

being taught and tested on. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia (Code) and 

Executive Order 19. The analysis presented below represents 

DPB's best estimate of these economic impacts.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Criminal Justice Services Board (board) proposes to (i) add the 

basic training standards to the document incorporated by 

reference, (ii) add a ninth category of basic training (Wellness), 

(iii) make other amendments to the basic training standards, 

(iv) increase the minimum number of hours of field training 

from 100 to 240, and (v) extend the timeframe within which 

newly hired law-enforcement (LE) officers must complete all 

certification requirements from 12 months to 18 months. 

Background. All newly hired LE officers must comply with the 

law-enforcement certification requirements within the 

prescribed time frame, which is currently 12 months from the 

date of hire or appointment as a law-enforcement officer.2 LE 

officers become certified upon meeting all compulsory 

minimum training standards and other requirements that 

include documented completion of all performance outcomes, 

the law-enforcement certification exam, and field training.3 

There are two types of training under the regulation: basic 

training and field training. Basic training currently includes the 

following eight training categories: Professionalism, Legal, 

Communication, Patrol, Investigations, Defensive tactics and 

use of force, Weapons, and Driver training. Each of the eight 

basic training categories has certain performance outcomes, 

training objectives, testing criteria, and lesson plan guides that 

make up the basic training standards. The categories are in the 

regulation, but the standards are not. Instead, they are listed on 

the Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) website.4 

The regulation does specify that the basic training take place at 

a certified criminal justice training academy, which includes 

receiving a minimum of 480 hours of department-approved 

training in the eight basic training categories. 

In addition to the minimum of 480 hours of basic training, the 

current regulation also requires successful completion of a 

minimum of 100 hours of approved training in the category of 

field training by meeting or exceeding the field training 

performance outcomes identified in the Virginia Department 

of Criminal Justice Services Field Training and On the Job 

Training Performance Outcomes.5 The Field Training and On 

the Job Training Performance Outcomes document is included 

in the regulation as a document incorporated by reference. The 

online version of the regulation includes a link to the 

document. The field training is conducted by the agencies that 

employ the LE officers. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Adding the basic training 

standards to the document incorporated by reference would be 

beneficial for readers of the regulation who are not aware of 

where they can find the standards elsewhere. There is no 

introduced cost from including the standards in the document 

incorporated by reference. The proposed new basic training 

category, Wellness, includes physical fitness standards as well 

as information on officer mental health and well-being.6 

According to DCJS, most academies are already teaching the 

components of Wellness. To the extent that some are not, if 

done well, adding instruction on physical fitness and especially 

mental health and well-being could be beneficial for LE 

officers, particularly since it is a high-stress occupation. DCJS 

does not believe that any of the academies would need to hire 

additional or different staff to teach the components of 

Wellness. Those academies that are not already teaching 

Wellness would still require additional staff time if they do not 

reduce time spent on other subjects. 

In addition to the new basic training category, Wellness, the 

board also proposes to amend the basic training standards to 

include increased training in community policing, verbal de-

escalation, implicit bias, duty to intervene, conflict resolution 

skills with a concentration on individuals with mental illness, 

and historical events that have influenced citizen and police 

relationships.7 DCJS states that most of these topics are already 

being taught at all academies and that no topics are being 

eliminated. To the extent that some academies may not be 

teaching all the above topics, additional staff time would be 

required if they do not reduce time spent on other subjects. 
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The board does not believe that 100 hours of field training is 

adequate for a new officer to become acclimated with the job. 

DCJS surveyed numerous agencies across the Commonwealth 

and found that most agencies are already providing well above 

240 hours of field training currently. The proposal to increase 

the minimum number of hours of field training to 240 would 

cause those agencies that are currently providing fewer hours 

of training to increase the amount of field training they provide. 

Going by the board's judgment that at least 240 hours are 

needed for LE officers to be prepared to perform the job 

competently, this proposed amendment should be beneficial. 

The current section 6VAC 20-20-40 of the regulation states in 

part that: 

Law-enforcement officers who do not satisfactorily complete 

compulsory minimum training standards, field training, and 

other requirements within 12 months of hire or appointment as 

a law-enforcement officer, or who do not receive an extension 

of the time limit for completion of the requirements, shall be 

subject to the provisions of § 9.1-115 of the Code of Virginia. 

Code of Virginia § 9.1-115 states in part that: 

Every person required to comply with the training standards 

adopted by the Board, excluding private security services business 

personnel, who fails to comply with the standards within the time 

limits established by the regulations adopted by the Board shall 

forfeit his office, upon receipt of notice. Such forfeiture shall 

create a vacancy in the office and all pay and allowances shall 

cease. 

Thus, under the current regulation, LE officers who fail to 

satisfactorily complete all certification requirements within 12 

months of being hired and do not receive an extension lose their 

job. The most common reasons that extensions are granted are 

military deployments and medical issues. The regulation also 

states that the director shall not grant an extension for (i) failing to 

pass compulsory minimum training standards and requirements 

within specified time limits or (ii) failing the certification 

examination. 

According to DCJS, the department receives many requests for 

extensions of the training deadline currently. Consequently, in 

addition to giving greater flexibility to employing agencies and 

their newly hired LE officers, the proposal to extend the timeframe 

within which newly hired LE officers must complete all 

certification requirements from 12 months to 18 months would 

also likely reduce the workload of DJCS field representatives who 

review such submissions. On the other hand, this proposal would 

allow individuals who are incapable of demonstrating the 

knowledge and skills that are presumably considered necessary for 

competent law enforcement to remain employed as a law-

enforcement officer for six additional months. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments affect the 39 certified criminal justice training 

academies, their staff, newly hired LE officers, and their 

employing agencies. According to DCJS, basic training was 

successfully completed at the training academies by 1,164 LE 

officers in 2020, 1,675 LE officers in 2021, and 1,892 LE 

officers in 2022. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.8 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. As noted above, in 

addition to benefits, costs are introduced in the form of 

required additional training time for some certified criminal 

justice training academies and for some employing agencies, 

as well as allowing individuals who are incapable of 

demonstrating the knowledge and skills that are necessary for 

competent law enforcement to remain employed as a law-

enforcement officer for six additional months. Thus, an 

adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses9 Affected.10 The proposed amendments do 

not appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities11 Affected.12 The localities that employ LE officers 

and provide fewer than 240 hours of field training would be 

particularly affected by encountering the cost of providing 

additional hours of training. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to substantively affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to substantively affect the use and 

value of private property. 

The proposed amendments do not affect real estate 

development costs. 

____________________________ 
1 Code § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses determine 

the public benefits and costs of the proposed amendments. Further the analysis 

should include but not be limited to: (1) the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the proposed regulatory action would apply, (2) the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other entities particularly 

affected, (3) the projected number of persons and employment positions to be 

affected, (4) the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to implement 

or comply with the regulation, and (5) the impact on the use and value of 

private property. 

2 The timeframe is found in 6VAC 20-20-40 (A): 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title6/agency20/chapter20/section40/. 

3 See 6VAC 20-20-

21 (C):  https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title6/agency20/chapter20/sect

ion21/. 

4 See https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/law-enforcement/certification-process-

and-mandated-service-requirements-le-officer. 

5 See https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/6VAC20/DIBR/dff6a005427~3g.pdf

. 

6 Source: DCJS. See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=51\566

5\9534\AgencyStatement_DCJS_9534_v1.pdf. 

7 Ibid. 

8 Pursuant to Code § 2.2-4007.04(D): In the event this economic impact 

analysis reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic 

impact on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact 

on a locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of 

Planning and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules, the House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on 

Finance. Statute does not define adverse impact, state whether only Virginia 

entities should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results 

from regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. 

9 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title6/agency20/chapter20/section40/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title6/agency20/chapter20/section21/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title6/agency20/chapter20/section21/
https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/law-enforcement/certification-process-and-mandated-service-requirements-le-officer
https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/law-enforcement/certification-process-and-mandated-service-requirements-le-officer
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/6VAC20/DIBR/dff6a005427~3g.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/6VAC20/DIBR/dff6a005427~3g.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=51/5665/9534/AgencyStatement_DCJS_9534_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=51/5665/9534/AgencyStatement_DCJS_9534_v1.pdf
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operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million. 

10 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, Code § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to Code § 2.2-

4007.1, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may have an adverse 

impact on small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules shall 

be notified. 

11 Locality can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

12 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact. 

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Criminal Justice Services concurs with the 

economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) update the Virginia 

Department of Criminal Justice Services Compulsory 

Minimum Training Standards and Performance Outcomes 

document, which contains the Virginia Department of 

Criminal Justice Services detailed requirements for 

training academy programs, incorporated by reference 

into Rules Relating to Compulsory Minimum Training 

Standards for Law-Enforcement Officers (6VAC20-20) 

and (ii) increase the timeframe for completion of training 

to 18 months from the date of hire or appointment as a 

law-enforcement officer. 

Changes to the requirements for training academy 

programs are being proposed for performance outcomes, 

training objectives, testing criteria, and lesson plan guides 

in each individual category of training in the Virginia 

Department of Criminal Justice Services Compulsory 

Minimum Training Standards and Performance Outcomes 

draft document. These changes and improvements include 

enhanced training in community policing, verbal de-

escalation, implicit bias, duty to intervene, conflict 

resolution skills with a concentration on individuals with 

mental illness, historical events that have influenced 

citizen and police relationships, and the establishment of 

a new category of training, Officer Wellness. Other 

proposed changes improve and update language, in 

addition to amending the existing number of field training 

hours required for new law-enforcement officers in 

Virginia, as recommended by the Law-Enforcement 

Curriculum Review Committee and subject matter experts 

and approved by the Criminal Justice Services Board.  

6VAC20-20-21. Compulsory minimum training standards 

and requirements. 

A. Pursuant to the provisions of subdivision 2 of § 9.1-102 of 

the Code of Virginia, the department, under the direction of the 

board, establishes the compulsory minimum training standards 

for full-time and part-time law-enforcement officers. 

B. An individual hired as a law-enforcement officer as 

defined in § 9.1-101 of the Code of Virginia shall comply with 

the following law-enforcement certification requirements: 

1. Successfully complete law-enforcement basic training at 

a certified criminal justice training academy, which includes 

receiving a minimum of 480 hours of department approved 

department-approved training by meeting or exceeding the 

performance outcomes identified in the Virginia Department 

of Criminal Justice Services Compulsory Minimum 

Training Standards and Performance Outcomes, draft dated 

November 1, 2024, hereby incorporated by reference, in the 

following categories: 

a. Professionalism; 

b. Legal; 

c. Communication; 

d. Patrol; 

e. Investigations; 

f. Defensive tactics and use of force; 

g. Weapons; and 

h. Driver training; and 

i. Wellness. 

2. Successfully complete a minimum of 100 240 hours of 

approved training in the category of Field Training by 

meeting or exceeding the field training performance 

outcomes identified in the Virginia Department of Criminal 

Justice Services Field Training and On the Job Training 

Compulsory Minimum Training Standards and Performance 

Outcomes, draft dated November 1, 2024. 

C. Law-enforcement officers become certified upon meeting 

all compulsory minimum training standards and other 

requirements that include documented completion of all 

performance outcomes, the law enforcement law-enforcement 

certification exam, and field training. 

6VAC20-20-40. Time requirement for completion of 

training. 

A. Law-enforcement officers required to comply with the 

requirements of 6VAC20-20-21 shall satisfactorily complete 

the requirements within 12 18 months of the date of hire or 

appointment as a law-enforcement officer. 

B. The director, or the director's designee, may grant an 

extension of the time limit for completion of the compulsory 

minimum training standards and other requirements for the 

following reasons: 
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1. Medical condition; 

2. Injury; 

3. Military service; or 

4. Administrative leave involving the determination of 

worker's compensation or disability retirement issues or 

suspension pending investigation or adjudication of a crime. 

C. The director or the director's designee may review and 

consider other reasons (e.g., natural disaster, family medical leave, 

etc.) for granting an extension. If approval is granted, the 

extension shall not exceed 90 days. 

D. The director or the director's designee may review and 

consider requests to renew training extensions if the reason for the 

original training extension continues and the request occurs before 

the expiration of the original extension. 

E. The director shall not grant an extension for: 

1. Failing to pass compulsory minimum training standards and 

requirements within specified time limits. 

2. Failing the certification examination. 

F. The agency administrator may request an extension from the 

director or the director's designee. 

1. The request shall be in writing and include written 

documentation articulating the reason the individual is unable 

to complete the required training within the specified time 

limits. 

2. The request shall be submitted to the department before the 

expiration of the specified time limits. 

G. Law-enforcement officers who do not satisfactorily complete 

compulsory minimum training standards, field training, and other 

requirements within 12 18 months of hire or appointment as a law-

enforcement officer, or who do not receive an extension of the 

time limit for completion of the requirements, shall be subject to 

the provisions of § 9.1-115 of the Code of Virginia. 

H. The department shall notify the agency administrator of 

individuals not in compliance with the requirements of this 

section. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(6VAC20-20) 

Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Field 
Training and On the Job Training Performance Outcomes, 

published September 2012, Virginia Department of Criminal 

Justice Services (Revised January 2018) 

Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Compulsory 

Minimum Training Standards and Performance Outcomes, 

Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services (rev. 11/2024) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6607; Filed October 1, 2024, 1:21 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-260. Water Quality Standards 

(amending 9VAC25-260-185). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.); 40 CFR Part 131. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 1, 2025. 

Effective Date: January 16, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Tish Robertson, Water Quality and 

Monitoring Scientist, Department of Environmental Quality, 

1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, 

VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-1295, or email 

tish.robertson@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: 40 CFR 131 authorizes requirements and procedures for 

developing, reviewing, revising, and approving water quality 

standards by the states as authorized by § 303(c) of the Clean 

Water Act. 40 CFR 131 specifically requires the states to adopt 

criteria to protect designated uses. Section 62.1-44.2 of the 

Code of Virginia establishes requirements for protection and 

restoration of the quality of state waters, safeguarding clean 

waters from pollution, prevention and reduction of pollution, 

and promotion of water conservation. Section 62.1-44.15 of 

the Code of Virginia requires the State Water Control Board to 

establish standards of quality consistent with its purpose and to 

modify, amend, or cancel any such standards or policies. 

Purpose: Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) staff 

have identified a need for greater flexibility to utilize 

scientifically defensible water quality criteria assessment 

methodologies for the Chesapeake Bay and its tidal tributaries. 

DEQ analyzes available monitoring data and biennially 

performs a water quality assessment. Whenever assessments 

indicate that a waterbody does not meet one or more water 

quality criteria, according to established DEQ guidelines, or 

fails to support a designated use, the waters are considered 

impaired and are added to the state impaired waters list. 

Applying appropriate and scientifically based methods 

contributes to improved water quality assessment procedures 

that will protect human health and aquatic life in the 

Chesapeake Bay and its tidal tributaries, resulting in healthier 

fisheries and safer and more reliable public water supplies and 

contributes to economic benefits from tourism, economic 

development, and commercial and recreational fishing 

industries enjoyed by citizens. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

proposed revised language specifies that Chesapeake Bay 

criteria can be assessed using currently utilized cumulative 

frequency distribution (CFD) method and also allows using 

alternative scientifically defensible methods. This proposed 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/6VAC20/dibr/COT%20approved%20clean%20LE%20CMTS-20241115132531.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/6VAC20/dibr/COT%20approved%20clean%20LE%20CMTS-20241115132531.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/6VAC20/dibr/COT%20approved%20clean%20LE%20CMTS-20241115132531.pdf
mailto:@tish.robertson@deq.virginia.gov
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change is prompted by DEQ staff who believe that the 

proposed revision will provide greater flexibility for criteria 

implementation and make additional datasets available for 

Chesapeake Bay water quality assessments. This rulemaking is 

using a fast-track rulemaking process because it is considered 

noncontroversial. 

Substance: The proposed substantive amendment to 9VAC25-

260-185 D 3 adds language that allows for the criteria for the 

Chesapeake Bay and its tidal tributaries to be assessed using 

alternative scientifically defensible methods other than the 

CFD methodology. Language that specifies that only the CFD 

methodology must be used for assessment purposes has been 

removed. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that this 

amendment allows DEQ to improve its capabilities for 

assessing attainment of designated uses and water quality to 

protect human health and aquatic life in the Chesapeake Bay 

and its tidal waters. There are no primary disadvantages to the 

public. The primary advantage to the agency and the 

Commonwealth is the ability to efficiently utilize already 

available data and apply improved methods for assessing 

attainment of designated uses in the Chesapeake Bay. There is 

no disadvantage to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Water Control Board (board) proposes to allow "any 

scientifically defensible assessment method" to assess 11 

dissolved oxygen criteria for the Chesapeake Bay and the tidal 

portions of its tributaries that protect certain designated uses; 

this would be in addition to the cumulative frequency 

distribution methodology, which is the only methodology that 

is currently allowed. 

Background. Under the federal Clean Water Act, states are 

required to monitor and assess the surface waters within their 

jurisdictional boundary with respect to water quality standards. 

Waterbodies that are determined not to meet water quality 

standards are identified as impaired by the Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) water quality assessment 

program and are placed on Virginia's § 303(d) list, which is 

often referred to as the impaired waters list. The § 303(d) list 

is sent to the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) every 

two years for approval. Per the federal Clean Water Act, a 

waterbody placed on a state's § 303(d) list is prioritized for a 

clean-up plan known as a total maximum daily load (TMDL). 

The pollutant addressed by a TMDL is determined to be the 

likely cause of waterbody impairment. A TMDL represents the 

maximum load of the pollutant that a waterbody can assimilate 

while still meeting water quality standards, which is 

instrumental in identifying the corrective actions that must be 

taken. This regulatory action pertains to 11 dissolved oxygen 

criteria for the Chesapeake Bay and the tidal portions of its 

tributaries that protect the following four designated uses: (i) 

two criteria for migratory fish spawning nursery (i.e., seven-

day mean, instantaneous minimum); (ii) five criteria for open 

water (i.e., 30-day mean with 0 to 0.5 ppt salinity, 30-day mean 

with greater than a 0.5 ppt salinity, seven-day mean, 

instantaneous minimum for less than 29 degrees Celsius, 

instantaneous minimum for greater than or equal to 29 degrees 

Celsius); (iii) three criteria for deep water (i.e., 30-day mean, 

one-day mean, instantaneous minimum); and (iv) one criterion 

for deep channel (i.e., instantaneous minimum). 

The current regulation stipulates that the criteria shall be 

assessed "through comparison of the generated cumulative 

frequency distribution of the monitoring data to the applicable 

criteria reference curve for each designated use," also known 

as the cumulative frequency distribution (CFD) methodology. 

The CFD approach has been used by the Chesapeake Bay 

program office since the early 2000s to assess water quality 

thresholds and criteria in the Chesapeake Bay and its tidal 

tributaries. This statistical tool allows criteria nonattainment to 

be expressed in terms of space and time, rather than just in time 

as more conventional tools do. However, the existing language 

in the regulation limits which methods DEQ can use to assess 

the criteria for dissolved oxygen. One limitation of the current 

regulatory language is that it limits assessments to using only 

discrete datasets, and excludes other types of available data. 

For example, water quality data from state-of-the-art 

automated continuous monitoring instrumentation that collects 

high-frequency data are not compatible with the CFD 

procedures. This limitation means that the current CFD 

approach only allows for the assessment of four (i.e., criteria 

noted) of the 11 dissolved oxygen criteria in the Chesapeake 

Bay and its tidal tributaries. Furthermore, according to DEQ, 

although failure to meet any of the 11 criteria may be sufficient 

for the waterbody to be placed on the impaired water list, to be 

removed from that list all 11 criteria may have to be be met. 

Generally, exceeding any of the applicable criteria may result 

in an impaired categorization. DEQ uses a weight of evidence 

approach where it considers all available data and information 

as well as available assessment procedures. It is possible that a 

weight of evidence analysis would identify that there is not 

sufficient information to make a determination and that 

additional data must be collected. Similarly, while failure to 

meet any of the 11 criteria may be sufficient for the waterbody 

to be placed on the impaired list, there is the caveat that not all 

11 criteria would necessarily apply to all waterbodies. Since 

seven of the 11 criteria cannot be assessed with the CFD 

methodology, failing one of the four criteria using the CFD 

methodology just once results in that waterbody being placed 

on the impaired water list permanently, even if the criteria that 

triggered placement may have been satisfied later. In other 

words, when failed, assessment of any one of the four criteria 



Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 8  Virginia Register of Regulations  December 2, 2024  

977 

places the waterbody on the impaired water list and that 

waterbody cannot be removed from the list because all of the 

11 criteria (provided all are applicable) cannot be assessed with 

the CFD methodology. As a result of these limitations, DEQ 

staff have identified a need for greater flexibility to utilize 

scientifically defensible water quality criteria assessment 

methodologies for the Chesapeake Bay and its tidal tributaries. 

In addition, DEQ reports that monitoring datasets composed of 

the state-of-the-art automated, continuous, and high-frequency 

data are available to be used for assessment using 

methodologies other than the CFD methodology. Thus, the 

board proposes to allow other assessment methodologies that 

can make use of the readily available data to assess potentially 

all 11 dissolved oxygen criteria. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. According to DEQ, applying 

appropriate and scientifically based methods contributes to 

improved water quality assessment procedures. This protects 

human health and aquatic life in the Chesapeake Bay and its 

tidal tributaries and results in healthier fisheries, safer and 

more reliable public water supplies, and also contributes to 

economic benefits from tourism, economic development, and 

commercial and recreational fishing industries. Additionally, 

DEQ reports that an estimated $2.5 million from state and 

federal funds is annually spent acquiring high-frequency 

continuous monitoring data in the tidal waters of the 

Chesapeake Bay watershed. However, the CFD methodology 

cannot be employed to analyze those types of data. Therefore, 

allowing other scientifically defensible methods that are 

capable of analyzing readily available high-frequency 

continuous monitoring data is expected to provide a better 

return on investment for the data collection and monitoring 

efforts. Moreover, the use of other methods is expected to 

allow the assessment of potentially all 11 criteria, which should 

result in a better and more comprehensive assessment of 

designated uses. However, the capability to assess more 

criteria may increase the number of waterbodies that are 

designated as impaired. On the other hand, the capability to 

assess potentially all 11 criteria would also make it possible to 

determine if all criteria are satisfied and, in the event all criteria 

are satisfied, provide a way for a waterbody to be removed 

from Virginia impaired waters list. DEQ believes that the latter 

scenario is more likely, and that fewer waters may remain on 

the list as a result of this regulatory change. This is partly 

because many of the waterbodies in the Chesapeake Bay and 

its tidal tributaries are already included on the impaired waters 

list. Generally, a decrease in the number of impaired waters 

should reduce the number of TMDLs and potentially reduce 

cleanup costs. According to DEQ, the average cost of a TMDL 

is approximately $100,000. TMDL requirements are 

implemented through VPDES permits for authorized point 

source discharges and through TMDL implementation plans 

for nonpoint sources. Compliance with TMDL requirements 

are then achieved through permit requirements for regulated 

entities or incentive-driven best management practices for 

nonpoint sources. An impaired waterbody retains its 

classification as such even after the completion and 

implementation of the TMDL. A waterbody is not considered 

non-impaired until monitoring data indicate it is meeting water 

quality standards. Other costs may be associated with an 

impaired waterbody apart from the costs of a clean-up plan and 

its implementation. Impaired waters may require additional 

monitoring resources so that the nature of the impairment can 

be properly characterized. Additionally, waterbodies that are 

not meeting water standards by definition do not attain the 

beneficial uses they are supposed to be providing. This may 

mean that there are elevated public health risks for individuals 

who recreate in or consume the fish or shellfish taken from the 

water body. Suboptimal habitat for aquatic life may translate 

into reduced yields for commercial and sports fishing. There 

may also be negative impacts on tourism when a water body is 

declared unsafe for swimming. DEQ reports that much of the 

Virginia portion of the Chesapeake Bay (and some waters in 

its tidal tributaries) were listed as impaired in 1999 by EPA. 

EPA made this determination based primarily on exceedances 

of dissolved oxygen criteria, which was the standard used at 

that time. In 2010, EPA finalized the Chesapeake Bay TMDL, 

the most expansive TMDL in the country to date. While there 

were no direct costs to Virginia resulting from the EPA listing 

decision and the subsequent TMDL, millions of dollars have 

been spent to implement the TMDL so that the impaired waters 

identified by EPA can be restored. The costs have been borne 

by both the private and public sectors. Wastewater dischargers 

authorized under the VPDES program include both private and 

publicly owned facilities, which have installed upgraded 

treatment processes and installed best management practices to 

limit pollutant discharges. Additionally, local, state, and 

federal funding has supported establishment of programs and 

implementation of practices to limit discharges in nonpoint 

sources, such as stormwater from agricultural and developed 

lands. Removing a waterbody from the impaired waters list 

after a TMDL has already been developed and implemented, 

as is the case with the Chesapeake Bay, does not eliminate all 

costs. Some compliance costs are ongoing, since the waterbody 

must be kept from relapsing into an impaired condition. 

However, some cost avoidance may be expected in terms of no 

longer needing to implement point source pollution control 

measures and install best management practices (e.g., stream 

fencing), and hence the costs associated with increased 

protection of water quality can be avoided. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

allowance of new water quality criteria assessment 

methodologies does not directly affect any entities other than 

DEQ. With the proposed changes, DEQ is expected to have 

enhanced ability to assess and report on progress towards 

meeting water quality standards in the Chesapeake Bay and its 

tidal tributaries. To the extent some waterbodies are removed 

from the impaired water list, there may be some cost avoidance 

benefit to point and non-point sources. However, there is no 

way of knowing which waterbodies and entities would be 

affected at this time. This regulation geographically applies to 
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the Chesapeake Bay and its tidal tributaries. The Code of 

Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an adverse impact 

may result from the proposed regulation.2 An adverse impact 

is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 

net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs 

for all entities combined.3 As noted, the addition of other 

scientifically defensible methods may primarily provide some 

benefits in terms of better assessing water quality and may 

provide some benefits in cost avoidance. Thus, no adverse 

impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses4 Affected.5 The proposed amendments do 

not appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities6 Affected.7 The proposed amendments 

geographically apply to the Chesapeake Bay and its tidal 

tributaries. However, no direct costs on localities in that 

geographic location is indicated. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to directly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No direct 

effects on the use and value of private property nor on real 

estate development costs are expected. However, to the extent 

proposed changes result in better water quality in the 

Chesapeake Bay and its tidal tributaries, a positive impact on 

real estate values in that area may be expected. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

3 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

4 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

5 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

6 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

7 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The State 

Water Control Board has reviewed the economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget 

and has no comment. 

Summary: 

The amendments specify that Chesapeake Bay criteria can 

be assessed using the currently utilized cumulative 

frequency distribution method and by using alternative 

scientifically defensible methods to provide greater 

flexibility for criteria implementation and make additional 

datasets available for Chesapeake Bay water quality 

assessments.  

9VAC25-260-185. Criteria to protect designated uses from 

the impacts of nutrients and suspended sediment in the 

Chesapeake Bay and its tidal tributaries. 

A. Dissolved oxygen. The dissolved oxygen criteria in the 

following table apply to all Chesapeake Bay waters according 

to their specified designated use and supersede the dissolved 

oxygen criteria in 9VAC25-260-50. 

Designated Use Criteria Concentration/Duration Temporal Application 

Migratory fish 

spawning and nursery 

7-day mean ≥ 6 mg/l (tidal habitats with 0-0.5 ppt salinity) 
February 1 - May 31 

Instantaneous minimum ≥ 5 mg/l 

Open water1 

30-day mean ≥ 5.5 mg/l (tidal habitats with 0-0.5 ppt salinity) 

year-round2  

30-day mean ≥ 5 mg/l (tidal habitats with > 0.5 ppt salinity) 

7-day mean ≥ 4 mg/l 

Instantaneous minimum ≥ 3.2 mg/l at temperatures < 29°C 

Instantaneous minimum ≥ 4.3 mg/l at temperatures ≥ 29°C 
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Deep water 

30-day mean ≥ 3 mg/l 

June 1 - September 30 1-day mean ≥ 2.3 mg/l 

Instantaneous minimum ≥ 1.7 mg/l 

Deep channel Instantaneous minimum ≥ 1 mg/l June 1 - September 30 

1In applying this open water instantaneous criterion to the Chesapeake Bay and its tidal tributaries where the existing water 

quality for dissolved oxygen exceeds an instantaneous minimum of 3.2 mg/l, that higher water quality for dissolved oxygen 

shall be provided antidegradation protection in accordance with 9VAC25-260-30 A 2. 
2Open-water dissolved oxygen criteria attainment is assessed separately over two time periods: summer (June 1- September 

30) and nonsummer (October 1-May 31) months. 

B. Submerged aquatic vegetation (SAV) and water clarity. Attainment of the shallow-water submerged aquatic vegetation 

designated use shall be determined using any one of the following criteria: 

Designated Use 
Chesapeake Bay 

Program Segment 
SAV Acres1 

Percent Light-

Through-Water2 

Water Clarity 

Acres1 
Temporal Application 

Shallow water 

submerged aquatic 

vegetation use 

CB5MH 7,633 22% 14,514 April 1 - October 31 

CB6PH 1,267 22% 3,168 
March 1 - November 

30 

CB7PH 15,107 22% 34,085 
March 1 - November 

30 

CB8PH 11 22% 28 
March 1 - November 

30 

POTTF 2,093 13% 5,233 April 1 - October 31 

POTOH 1,503 13% 3,758 April 1 - October 31 

POTMH 4,250 22% 10,625 April 1 - October 31 

RPPTF 66 13% 165 April 1 - October 31 

RPPOH 4 13% 10 April 1 - October 31 

RPPMH 5,380 22% 13,450 April 1 - October 31 

CRRMH 768 22% 1,920 April 1 - October 31 

PIAMH 3,479 22% 8,014 April 1 - October 31 

MPNTF 85 13% 213 April 1 - October 31 

MPNOH - - - - 

PMKTF 187 13% 468 April 1 - October 31 

PMKOH - - - - 

YRKMH 239 22% 598 April 1 - October 31 

YRKPH 2,793 22% 6,982 
March 1 - November 

30 

MOBPH 15,901 22% 33,990 
March 1 - November 

30 

JMSTF2 266 13% 665 April 1 - October 31 
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JMSTF1 1,333 13% 3,332 April 1 - October 31 

APPTF 379 13% 948 April 1 - October 31 

JMSOH 15 13% 38 April 1 - October 31 

CHKOH 535 13% 1,338 April 1 - October 31 

JMSMH 531 22% 1,328 April 1 - October 31 

JMSPH 604 22% 1,510 
March 1 - November 

30 

WBEMH - - - - 

SBEMH - - - - 

EBEMH - - - - 

ELIPH - - - - 

LYNPH 107 22% 268 
March 1 - November 

30 

POCOH - - - - 

POCMH 4,066 22% 9,368 April 1 - October 31 

TANMH 13,579 22% 22,064 April 1 - October 31 

1The assessment period for SAV and water clarity acres shall be the single best year in the most recent three consecutive 

years. When three consecutive years of data are not available, a minimum of three years within the data assessment window 

shall be used. 

2Percent light-through-water = 100e(-KdZ) where Kd is water column light attenuation coefficient and can be measured directly 

or converted from a measured secchi depth where Kd = 1.45/secchi depth. Z = depth at location of measurement of Kd. 

C. Chlorophyll a. 

Designated Use Chlorophyll a Narrative Criterion Temporal Application 

Open water 

Concentrations of chlorophyll a in free-floating 

microscopic aquatic plants (algae) shall not exceed levels 

that result in undesirable or nuisance aquatic plant life or 

render tidal waters unsuitable for the propagation and 

growth of a balanced, indigenous population of aquatic 

life or otherwise result in ecologically undesirable water 

quality conditions such as reduced water clarity, low 

dissolved oxygen, food supply imbalances, proliferation of 

species deemed potentially harmful to aquatic life or 

humans, or aesthetically objectionable conditions. 

March 1 - September 30 

See 9VAC25-260-310 special standard bb for numerical chlorophyll criteria for the tidal James River. 

D. Implementation. 

1. Chesapeake Bay program segmentation scheme as described in Chesapeake Bay Program, 2004 Chesapeake Bay Program 

Analytical Segmentation Scheme-Revisions, Decisions and Rationales: 1983–2003, CBP/TRS 268/04, EPA 903-R-04-008, 

Chesapeake Bay Program, Annapolis, Maryland, and the Chesapeake Bay Program published 2005 addendum (CBP/TRS 278-

06; EPA 903-R-05-004) is listed in the following table and shall be used as the spatial assessment unit to determine attainment 

of the criteria in this section for each designated use. 
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Chesapeake Bay Segment Description Segment Name1 Chesapeake Bay Segment Description Segment Name1 

Lower Central Chesapeake Bay CB5MH Mobjack Bay MOBPH 

Western Lower Chesapeake Bay CB6PH Upper Tidal Fresh James River JMSTF2 

Eastern Lower Chesapeake Bay CB7PH Lower Tidal Fresh James River JMSTF1 

Mouth of the Chesapeake Bay CB8PH Appomattox River APPTF 

Upper Potomac River POTTF Middle James River JMSOH 

Middle Potomac River POTOH Chickahominy River CHKOH 

Lower Potomac River POTMH Lower James River JMSMH 

Upper Rappahannock River RPPTF Mouth of the James River JMSPH 

Middle Rappahannock River RPPOH Western Branch Elizabeth River WBEMH 

Lower Rappahannock River RPPMH Southern Branch Elizabeth River SBEMH 

Corrotoman River CRRMH Eastern Branch Elizabeth River EBEMH 

Piankatank River PIAMH Lafayette River LAFMH 

Upper Mattaponi River MPNTF Mouth of the Elizabeth River ELIPH 

Lower Mattaponi River MPNOH Lynnhaven River LYNPH 

Upper Pamunkey River PMKTF Middle Pocomoke River POCOH 

Lower Pamunkey River PMKOH Lower Pocomoke River POCMH 

Middle York River YRKMH Tangier Sound TANMH 

Lower York River YRKPH 

  

1First three letters of segment name represent Chesapeake Bay segment description, letters four and five represent the salinity 

regime of that segment (TF = Tidal Fresh, OH = Oligohaline, MH = Mesohaline, and PH = Polyhaline) and a sixth space is 

reserved for subdivisions of that segment. 

2. The assessment period shall be the most recent three 

consecutive years. When three consecutive years of data are 

not available, a minimum of three years within the data 

assessment window shall be used. 

3. Attainment of these criteria shall be assessed through any 

scientifically defensible assessment methods, which may 

include a comparison of the generated cumulative frequency 

distribution (CFD) of the monitoring data to the applicable 

criteria reference curve for each designated use. If the 

monitoring data cumulative frequency curve is completely 

contained inside the reference curve, then the segment is in 

attainment of the designated use. The reference curves and 

CFD procedures to be followed are published in the USEPA, 

Ambient Water Quality Criteria for Dissolved Oxygen, 

Water Clarity and Chlorophyll a for the Chesapeake Bay and 

Its Tidal Tributaries, EPA 903-R-03-002, April 2003 and the 

2004 (EPA 903-R-03-002 October 2004), 2007 (CBP/TRS 

285/07, EPA 903-R-07-003), 2007 (CBP/TRS 288/07, EPA 

903-R-07-005), 2008 (CBP/TRS 290-08, EPA 903-R-08-

001), 2010 (CBP/TRS 301-10, EPA 903-R-10-002), and 

2017 (CBP/TRS 320-17, EPA 903-R-17-002) addenda. An 

exception to this requirement is in measuring attainment of 

the SAV and water clarity acres, which are compared 

directly to the criteria. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7870; Filed November 6, 2024, 9:16 a.m. 

  –––––––––––––––––– 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-70. Methods and Standards 

for Establishing Payment Rates; In-Patient Hospital Care 

(adding 12VAC30-70-411, 12VAC30-70-429). 
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12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards for Establishing 

Payment Rate; Other Types of Care (amending 12VAC30-

80-20). 

12VAC30-160. Hospital Assessment (adding 12VAC30-

160-10). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) authorize the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services to levy assessments upon private acute 

care hospitals operating in Virginia to fund new Medicaid 

coverage for adults as well as new Medicaid hospital 

supplemental payments, (ii) establish new supplemental 

inpatient and outpatient payments for qualifying private 

acute care hospitals in Virginia, and (iii) sunset 

supplemental payments made to certain private teaching 

hospitals to avoid overlapping supplemental payments. The 

amendments are required by §§ 3-5.15 and 3-5.16 and Item 

303 XX 6 c of the 2018 Appropriation Act (Chapter 2 of the 

2018 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I). 

Nonsubstantive changes were made from the proposed 

language for clarity, to account for impending policy 

updates, and in order to comply with budgetary 

requirements. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

12VAC30-70-411. Supplemental payments for certain 

teaching hospitals.  

[ A. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2017, 

quarterly supplemental payments will be issued to qualifying 

private hospitals for inpatient services rendered during the 

quarter. These quarterly supplemental payments will cease for 

dates of service on or after October 1, 2018.  

B. A. ] Qualifying criteria. Qualifying hospitals are the 

primary teaching hospitals affiliated with a Liaison Committee 

on Medical Education (LCME) accredited medical school 

located in Planning District 23 that is a political subdivision of 

the Commonwealth and an LCME accredited medical school 

located in Planning District 5 that has a partnership with a 

public university. 

[ C. B. ] Reimbursement methodology. Each qualifying 

hospital shall receive quarterly supplemental payments for the 

inpatient services rendered during the quarter equal to the 

difference between the hospital's Medicaid payments and the 

hospital's disproportionate share limit (Omnibus Budget 

Reconciliation Act 93 disproportionate share hospital limit) for 

the most recent year for which the disproportionate share limit 

has been calculated divided by four. The supplemental 

payment amount will be determined prior to the beginning of 

the fiscal year. 

[ D. C. ] Limit. Maximum aggregate payments to all 

qualifying hospitals shall not exceed the available upper 

payment limit per state fiscal year (SFY). In SFY 2019, the 

upper payment limit shall be prorated for the time period these 

supplemental payments are in effect. 

12VAC30-70-429. Supplemental payments for private 

acute care hospitals.  

A. Starting October 1, 2018, supplemental payments will be 

issued to qualifying hospitals for inpatient services provided to 

Medicaid patients. 

B. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this section shall have the following meanings unless otherwise 

stated: 

"Acute care hospital" means any hospital that provides 

emergency medical services on a 24-hour basis. 

"Children's hospital" means a hospital (i) whose inpatients are 

predominantly younger than 18 years of age and (ii) that is 

excluded from the Medicare prospective payment system 

pursuant to the Social Security Act.  

"Critical access hospital" means a facility that meets the 

requirements of the State Medicare Rural Hospital Flexibility 

Program, 42 USC § 1395i-4, for such designation. 

"Freestanding psychiatric and rehabilitation hospital" means 

a freestanding psychiatric hospital, which means a hospital that 

provides services consistent with 42 CFR 482.60, or a 

freestanding rehabilitation hospital, which means a hospital 

that provides services consistent with 42 CFR 482.56. 

"Hospital" means a medical care facility licensed as an 

inpatient hospital or outpatient surgical center by the 

[ Virginia ] Department of Health or as a psychiatric hospital 

by the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services. 

"Long-stay hospital" means specialty facilities that serve 

individuals receiving medical assistance who require a higher 

intensity of nursing care than that which is normally provided 

in a nursing facility and who do not require the degree of care 

and treatment that an acute care hospital is designed to provide.  

"Long-term acute care hospital" or "LTACH" means an 

inpatient hospital that provides care for patients who require a 

length of stay greater than 25 days and is, or proposes to be, 

certified by [ CMS Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services (CMS) ] as a long-term care inpatient hospital 

pursuant to 42 CFR Part 412. [ A An ] LTACH may be either 

a freestanding facility or located within an existing or host 

hospital. 

mailto:emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
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"Public hospital" means a hospital that is solely owned by a 

government or governmental entity. 

"Supplemental payment" or "private acute care enhanced 

payment" means an increased payment to a qualifying hospital 

up to the upper payment limit gap from the Health Care 

Provider Rate Assessment Fund as [ initially ] authorized in the 

2018 [ and 2019 ] Appropriation [ Acts Act and reauthorized 

in the subsequent Appropriation Acts ]. 

"Upper payment limit" [ or "UPL" ] means the limit on 

payment for inpatient services for recipients of medical 

assistance established in accordance with 42 CFR 447.272, and 

on payment for outpatient services for recipients of medical 

assistance pursuant to 42 CFR 447.321 for private hospitals. 

The limit applies only to fee-for-service claims. 

"Upper payment limit gap" or "UPL gap" means the 

difference between the amount of the private acute care 

hospital upper payment limits estimated for the State Plan rate 

year using the latest available cost report data, and the amount 

estimated that would otherwise be paid for the same State Plan 

rate year pursuant to the State Plan reimbursement 

methodology for inpatient and outpatient services. The upper 

payment limit gap shall be updated annually for each rate year. 

C. Qualifying criteria. Qualifying hospitals are all in-state 

private acute care hospitals, excluding public hospitals, 

freestanding psychiatric and rehabilitation hospitals, children's 

hospitals, long-stay hospitals, long-term acute care hospitals, 

and critical access hospitals. 

D. Reimbursement methodology. The supplemental payment 

shall equal inpatient hospital claim payments times the UPL 

gap percentage.  

1. The UPL gap percentage is the percentage calculated 

when the numerator is the upper payment limit gap for 

inpatient services for private hospitals and the denominator 

is Medicaid claim payments to all qualifying hospitals for 

inpatient hospital services provided to Medicaid patients in 

the same year used in the numerator.  

2. The UPL gap percentage will be calculated annually. 

E. Quarterly payments. After the close of each quarter, 

beginning with the quarter ending December 31, 2018, each 

qualifying hospital shall receive supplemental payments for 

the inpatient services paid during that quarter. The 

supplemental payments for each qualifying hospital for each 

quarter shall be calculated based on the Medicaid inpatient 

hospital payments paid in that quarter multiplied by the UPL 

gap percentage.  

12VAC30-80-20. Services that are reimbursed on a cost 

basis. 

A. Payments for services listed in this section shall be on the 

basis of reasonable cost following the standards and principles 

applicable to the Title XVIII Program with the exception 

provided for in subdivision D 1 e of this section. The upper 

limit for reimbursement shall be no higher than payments for 

Medicare patients in accordance with 42 CFR 447.321. In no 

instance, however, shall charges for beneficiaries of the 

program be in excess of charges for private patients receiving 

services from the provider. The professional component for 

emergency room physicians shall continue to be uncovered as 

a component of the payment to the facility. 

B. Reasonable costs will be determined from the filing of a 

uniform Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services-

approved cost report by participating providers. The cost 

reports are due not later than 150 days after the provider's fiscal 

year end. If a complete cost report is not received within 150 

days after the end of the provider's fiscal year, DMAS or its 

designee shall take action in accordance with its policies to 

[ assure ensure ] that an overpayment is not being made. All 

cost reports shall be reviewed and reconciled to final costs 

within 180 days of the receipt of a completed cost report. The 

cost report will be judged complete when DMAS has all of the 

following: 

1. Completed cost reporting form provided by DMAS, with 

signed certification; 

2. The provider's trial balance showing adjusted journal 

entries; 

3. The provider's financial statements including a balance 

sheet, a statement of income and expenses, a statement of 

retained earnings (or fund balance), and a statement of 

changes in financial position; 

4. Schedules that reconcile financial statements and trial 

balance to expenses claimed in the cost report; 

5. Depreciation schedule or summary; 

6. Home office cost report, if applicable; and 

7. Such other analytical information or supporting 

documents requested by DMAS when the cost reporting 

forms are sent to the provider. 

C. Item 398 D of the 1987 Appropriation Act (as amended), 

effective April 8, 1987, eliminated reimbursement of return on 

equity capital to proprietary providers. 

D. The services that are cost reimbursed are: 

1. For dates of service prior to January 1, 2014, outpatient 

hospital services, including rehabilitation hospital outpatient 

services and excluding laboratory services. 

a. Definitions. The following words and terms when used 

in this section shall have the following meanings when 

applied to emergency services unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"All-inclusive" means all emergency department and 

ancillary service charges claimed in association with the 
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emergency room visit, with the exception of laboratory 

services. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et seq.) of 

Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Emergency hospital services" means services that are 

necessary to prevent the death or serious impairment of the 

health of the recipient. The threat to the life or health of 

the recipient necessitates the use of the most accessible 

hospital available that is equipped to furnish the services. 

"Recent injury" means an injury that has occurred less than 

72 hours prior to the emergency department visit. 

b. Scope. DMAS shall differentiate, as determined by the 

attending physician's diagnosis, the kinds of care routinely 

rendered in emergency departments and reimburse for 

nonemergency care rendered in emergency departments at 

a reduced rate. 

(1) With the exception of laboratory services, DMAS shall 

reimburse at a reduced and all-inclusive reimbursement 

rate for all services rendered in emergency departments 

that DMAS determines were nonemergency care. 

(2) Services determined by the attending physician to be 

emergencies shall be reimbursed under the existing 

methodologies and at the existing rates. 

(3) Services performed by the attending physician that 

may be emergencies shall be manually reviewed. If such 

services meet certain criteria, they shall be paid under the 

methodology for subdivision 1 b (2) of this subsection. 

Services not meeting certain criteria shall be paid under 

the methodology of subdivision 1 b (1) of this subsection. 

Such criteria shall include: 

(a) The initial treatment following a recent obvious injury. 

(b) Treatment related to an injury sustained more than 72 

hours prior to the visit with the deterioration of the 

symptoms to the point of requiring medical treatment for 

stabilization. 

(c) The initial treatment for medical emergencies 

including indications of severe chest pain, dyspnea, 

gastrointestinal hemorrhage, spontaneous abortion, loss of 

consciousness, status epilepticus, or other conditions 

considered life threatening. 

(d) A visit in which the recipient's condition requires 

immediate hospital admission or the transfer to another 

facility for further treatment or a visit in which the 

recipient dies. 

(e) Services provided for acute vital sign changes as 

specified in the provider manual. 

(f) Services provided for severe pain when combined with 

one or more of the other guidelines. 

(4) Payment shall be determined based on ICD diagnosis 

codes and necessary supporting documentation. As used 

here, the term "ICD" is defined in 12VAC30-95-5. 

(5) DMAS shall review on an ongoing basis the 

effectiveness of this program in achieving its objectives 

and for its effect on recipients, physicians, and hospitals. 

Program components may be revised subject to achieving 

program intent, the accuracy and effectiveness of the ICD 

code designations, and the impact on recipients and 

providers. As used here, the term "ICD" is defined in 

12VAC30-95-5. 

c. Limitation of allowable cost. Effective for services on 

and after July 1, 2003, reimbursement of Type Two 

hospitals for outpatient services shall be at various 

percentages as noted in subdivisions 1 c (1) and 1 c (2) of 

this subsection of allowable cost, with cost to be 

determined as provided in subsections A, B, and C of this 

section. For hospitals with fiscal years that do not begin 

on July 1, outpatient costs, both operating and capital, for 

the fiscal year in progress on that date shall be apportioned 

between the time period before and the time period after 

that date, based on the number of calendar months in the 

cost reporting period, falling before and after that date. 

(1) Type One hospitals. 

[ (a) Effective July 1, 2003, through June 30, 2010, 

hospital outpatient operating reimbursement shall be at 

94.2% of allowable cost and capital reimbursement shall 

be at 90% of allowable cost. 

(b) Effective July 1, 2010, through September 30, 2010, 

hospital outpatient operating reimbursement shall be at 

91.2% of allowable cost and capital reimbursement shall 

be at 87% of allowable cost. 

(c) Effective October 1, 2010, through June 30, 2011, 

hospital outpatient operating reimbursement shall be at 

94.2% of allowable cost and capital reimbursement shall 

be at 90% of allowable cost. 

(d) ] Effective July 1, 2011, hospital outpatient operating 

reimbursement shall be at 90.2% of allowable cost and 

capital reimbursement shall be at 86% of allowable cost. 

(2) Type Two hospitals. 

[ (a) Effective July 1, 2003, through June 30, 2010, 

hospital outpatient operating and capital reimbursement 

shall be 80% of allowable cost. 

(b) Effective July 1, 2010, through September 30, 2010, 

hospital outpatient operating and capital reimbursement 

shall be 77% of allowable cost. 

(c) Effective October 1, 2010, through June 30, 2011, 

hospital outpatient operating and capital reimbursement 

shall be 80% of allowable cost. 

(d) ] Effective July 1, 2011, hospital outpatient operating 

and capital reimbursement shall be 76% of allowable cost. 

d. The last cost report with a fiscal year end on or after 

December 31, 2013, shall be used for reimbursement for 

dates of service through December 31, 2013, based on this 

section. Reimbursement shall be based on charges 
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reported for dates of service prior to January 1, 2014. 

Settlement will be based on four months of runout from 

the end of the provider's fiscal year. Claims for services 

paid after the cost report runout period will not be settled. 

e. Payment for direct medical education costs of nursing 

schools, paramedical programs, and graduate medical 

education for interns and residents. 

(1) Direct medical education costs of nursing schools and 

paramedical programs shall continue to be paid on an 

allowable cost basis. 

(2) Effective with cost reporting periods beginning on or 

after July 1, 2002, direct graduate medical education 

(GME) costs for interns and residents shall be reimbursed 

on a per-resident prospective basis. See 12VAC30-70-281 

for prospective payment methodology for graduate 

medical education for interns and residents. 

2. Rehabilitation agencies or comprehensive outpatient 

rehabilitation. 

a. Effective July 1, 2009, rehabilitation agencies or 

comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facilities that are 

operated by community services boards or state agencies 

shall be reimbursed their costs. For reimbursement 

methodology applicable to all other rehabilitation 

agencies, see 12VAC30-80-200. 

b. Effective October 1, 2009, rehabilitation agencies or 

comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facilities operated 

by state agencies shall be reimbursed their costs. For 

reimbursement methodology applicable to all other 

rehabilitation agencies, see 12VAC30-80-200. 

3. Supplement payments to Type One hospitals for 

outpatient services. 

a. In addition to payments for services set forth elsewhere 

in the State Plan, DMAS makes supplemental payments to 

qualifying state government owned or operated hospitals 

for outpatient services furnished to Medicare members on 

or after July 1, 2010. To qualify for a supplement payment, 

the hospital must be part of the state academic health 

system or part of an academic health system that operates 

under a state authority. 

b. The amount of the supplemental payment made to each 

qualifying hospital shall be equal to the difference 

between the total allowable cost and the amount otherwise 

actually paid for the services by the Medicaid program 

based on cost settlement. 

c. Payment for furnished services under this section shall 

be paid at settlement of the cost report. 

4. Supplemental payments for private hospital partners of 

Type One hospitals. Effective for dates of service on or after 

October 25, 2011, quarterly supplemental payments shall be 

issued to qualifying private hospitals for outpatient services 

rendered during the quarter. These quarterly supplemental 

payments will cease for dates of service on or after the 

effective date of State Plan amendments authorizing 

increased payments to qualifying hospitals from the Health 

Care Provider Rate Assessment Fund established pursuant 

to § 32.1-331.02 of the Code of Virginia and approved by 

the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

a. In order to qualify for the supplemental payment, the 

hospital shall be enrolled currently as a Virginia Medicaid 

provider and shall be owned or operated by a private entity 

in which a Type One hospital has a nonmajority interest. 

b. Reimbursement methodology. 

(1) Hospitals not participating in the Medicaid 

disproportionate share hospital (DSH) program shall 

receive quarterly supplemental payments for the 

outpatient services rendered during the quarter. Each 

quarterly payment distribution shall occur not more than 

two years after the year in which the qualifying hospital's 

entitlement arises. The annual supplemental payments in 

a fiscal year shall be the lesser of: 

(a) The difference between each qualifying hospital's 

outpatient Medicaid billed charges and Medicaid 

payments the hospital receives for services processed for 

fee-for-service Medicaid individuals during the fiscal 

year; or 

(b) $1,894 per Medicaid outpatient visit for state plan rate 

year 2012. For future state plan rate years, this number 

shall be adjusted by inflation based on the Virginia 

moving average values as compiled and published by 

Global Insight (or its successor) under contract with [ the 

department DMAS ]. 

(2) Hospitals participating in the DSH program shall 

receive quarterly supplemental payments for the 

outpatient services rendered during the quarter. Each 

quarterly payment distribution shall occur not more than 

two years after the year in which the qualifying hospital's 

entitlement arises. The annual supplemental payments in 

a fiscal year shall be the lesser of: 

(a) The difference between each qualifying hospital's 

outpatient Medicaid billed charges and Medicaid 

payments the hospital receives for services processed for 

fee-for-service Medicaid individuals during the fiscal 

year; 

(b) $1,894 per Medicaid outpatient visit for state plan rate 

year 2012. For future state plan rate years, this number 

shall be adjusted by inflation based on the Virginia 

moving average values as compiled and published by 

Global Insight (or its successor) under contract with [ the 

department DMAS ]; or 

(c) The difference between the limit calculated under 

§ 1923(g) of the Social Security Act and the hospital's 

DSH payments for the applicable payment period. 

c. Limit. Maximum aggregate payments to all qualifying 

hospitals in this group shall not exceed the available upper 

payment limit per state fiscal year. 
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5. Supplemental outpatient payments for non-state-

government-owned hospitals. Effective July 1, 2018, 

supplemental payments will be issued to qualifying non-

state-government-owned hospitals for outpatient services 

provided to Medicaid patients. 

a. Qualifying hospitals are all non-state-government-

owned acute care hospitals. 

b. The supplemental payment shall equal outpatient 

hospital claim payments times the upper payment limit 

(UPL) gap percentage. 

(1) The annual UPL gap percentage is the percentage 

calculated where the numerator is the difference for each 

qualifying hospital between a reasonable estimate of the 

amount that would be paid under Medicare payment 

principles for outpatient hospital services provided to 

Medicaid patients, as calculated in accordance with 42 

CFR 447.321, and what Medicaid paid for such services, 

and the denominator is Medicaid claim payments to all 

qualifying hospitals for outpatient hospital services 

provided to Medicaid patients in the same year used in the 

numerator. 

(2) The annual UPL gap percentage will be calculated 

annually for each hospital using the most recent year for 

which comprehensive annual data are available and 

inflated to the state fiscal year for which payments are to 

be made. 

6. Quarterly payments. After the close of each quarter, 

beginning with the July 1, 2018, to September 30, 2018, 

quarter, each qualifying hospital shall receive supplemental 

payments for the outpatient services paid during the prior 

quarter. The supplemental payments for each qualifying 

hospital for each quarter shall be calculated by multiplying 

the Medicaid outpatient hospital payments paid in that 

quarter by the annual UPL gap percentage for each hospital. 

7. Supplemental outpatient payments for private acute care 

hospitals. Starting October 1, 2018, supplemental payments 

will be issued to qualifying private hospitals for outpatient 

services provided to Medicaid patients. 

a. Definitions. See definitions in 12VAC30-70-429. 

b. Qualifying criteria. Qualifying hospitals are all in-state 

private acute care hospitals, excluding public hospitals, 

freestanding psychiatric and rehabilitation hospitals, 

children's hospitals, long-stay hospitals, long-term acute 

care hospitals, and critical access hospitals. A qualifying 

hospital is the same as a "covered hospital" in § 32.1-

331.02 of the Code of Virginia. 

c. Reimbursement methodology. The supplemental 

payment shall equal outpatient hospital claim payments 

times the UPL gap percentage. 

(1) The UPL gap percentage is the percentage calculated 

where the numerator is the UPL gap for outpatient services 

for private hospitals and the denominator is Medicaid 

claim payments to all qualifying hospitals for outpatient 

hospital services provided to Medicaid patients in the 

same year used in the numerator. 

(2) The UPL gap percentage will be calculated annually. 

d. Quarterly payments. After the close of each quarter, 

beginning with the quarter ending December 31, 2018, 

each qualifying hospital shall receive supplemental 

payments for the outpatient services paid during that 

quarter. The supplemental payments for each qualifying 

hospital for each quarter shall be calculated based on the 

Medicaid outpatient hospital payments paid in that quarter 

multiplied by the UPL gap percentage. 

Chapter 160 

Hospital Assessment 

12VAC30-160-10. Hospital assessment.  

A. Authority. The Department of Medical Assistance 

Services (DMAS) is authorized to levy a [ Health Care 

Coverage Assessment health care coverage assessment ] and a 

[ Health Care Provider Payment Rate Assessment health care 

provider payment rate assessment ] upon private acute care 

hospitals operating in Virginia in accordance with §§ 32.1-

331.01 and 32.1-331.02 of the Code of Virginia and §§ 3-5.15, 

3-5.16, and 4-14 as revised by the 2019 [ and subsequent ] 

Appropriation [ Act Acts ]. 

B. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this section shall have the following meanings unless otherwise 

stated: 

[ "Coverage assessment amount" means the nonfederal share 

of the full cost of expanded Medicaid coverage times a 

multiplier determined by the General Assembly and published 

on the DMAS website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-

providers/rates-and-rate-setting/. Effective July 1, 2021, the 

multiplier rate is 1.02. 

"Coverage assessment percentage" means the coverage 

assessment amount divided by the total private acute care 

hospital net patient revenue. ] 

"Covered hospital" means any in-state private acute care 

hospital other than a hospital classified as a public hospital, 

freestanding psychiatric and rehabilitation hospital, children's 

hospital, long-stay hospital, long-term acute care hospital, or 

critical access hospital. 

"Full cost of expanded Medicaid coverage" means (i) any and 

all Medicaid expenditures related to individuals eligible for 

Medicaid pursuant to 42 USC 1396d(y)(1) (2010) of the 

Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, including any 

federal actions or repayments and (ii) all administrative costs 

associated with providing coverage, which includes the costs 

of administering the provisions of the 1115 waiver, and 

collecting the coverage assessment. 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/rates-and-rate-setting/
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/rates-and-rate-setting/
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"Managed care organization," "MCO," or "Medicaid MCO" 

means an entity that meets the participation and solvency 

criteria defined in 42 CFR Part 438 and has an executed 

contractual agreement with DMAS to provide services covered 

under a mandatory managed care program. 

"Managed care organization hospital payment gap" means the 

difference between the amount included in the capitation rates 

for inpatient and outpatient services for the contract year based 

on historical paid claims and the amount that would be 

[ included paid ] when the projected hospital services furnished 

by private acute care hospitals operating in Virginia are priced 

for the contract year equivalent to the [ fee-for-service upper 

payment limit subject to CMS approval maximum managed 

care directed payment amount allowed by the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services ] under 42 CFR 438.6(c). The 

managed care organization hospital payment gap shall be 

updated annually for each contract year. 

"Managed care organization supplemental hospital capitation 

payment adjustment" means the additional amount added to 

Medicaid MCO capitation rates to pay the Medicaid managed 

care organization hospital payment gap to qualifying private 

acute care hospitals for services to Medicaid recipients.  

"Net patient service revenue" means the amount each hospital 

reported in the most recent Virginia Health Information 

Hospital Detail Report [ as of December 15 of each year ] 

excluding any nonhospital revenue that meets the requirements 

in subsection C of this section.  

[ "Newly eligible individual" means an individual described 

in 42 USC § 1396a(a)(10)(A)(i)(VIII). ]  

"Private acute care hospital" means acute care hospitals, 

excluding public hospitals, freestanding psychiatric and 

rehabilitation hospitals, children's hospitals, long-stay 

hospitals, long-term acute care hospitals, and critical access 

hospitals. 

[ "Provider payment rate costs" means the upper payment 

limit gap and the managed care organization hospital payment 

gap. 

"Private acute care hospital enhanced payments" means 

payments made to (i) fund an increase in inpatient and 

outpatient payment rates paid to private acute care hospitals 

operating in Virginia up to the upper payment limit gap and (ii) 

fill the managed care organization hospital payment gap for 

care provided to recipients of medical assistance services. ] 

"Upper payment limit" means the limit on payment for 

inpatient services for recipients of medical assistance 

established in accordance with 42 CFR 447.272 and on 

payment for outpatient services for recipients of medical 

assistance pursuant to 42 CFR 447.321 for private hospitals. 

This limit applies only to fee-for-service claims. 

"Upper payment limit gap" means the difference between the 

amount of the private acute care hospital upper payment limits 

estimated for the State Plan rate year using the latest available 

cost report data and the amount estimated that would otherwise 

be paid for that same State Plan rate year pursuant to the State 

Plan for inpatient and outpatient services. The supplemental 

payment methodology from the Health Care Provider Payment 

Rate Fund to qualifying hospitals for inpatient services is 

described in 12VAC30-70-429 and for outpatient services is 

described in 12VAC30-80-20. The upper payment limit gap 

shall be updated annually for each State Plan rate year. 

C. Nonhospital revenue that should be excluded from a 

hospital's net patient service revenue as reported to the Virginia 

Health Information (VHI) Hospital Detail Report must be 

reported to DMAS by April 1 of each year. The hospital's chief 

financial officer must certify any changes to the data reported 

to VHI.  

D. Health care coverage assessment. Private acute care 

hospitals operating in Virginia shall [ pay make ] a provider 

coverage assessment [ payment ] beginning on or after 

October 1, 2018. 

1. DMAS will calculate each hospital's coverage assessment 

[ payment ] by multiplying the coverage assessment 

percentage times [ each hospital's ] net patient service 

revenue.  

2. The coverage assessment percentage is calculated [ as 

quarterly by dividing ] (i) [ 1.08 times the nonfederal share 

of the full cost of expanded Medicaid coverage for newly 

eligible individuals under 42 USC § 1396d(y)(1) (as inserted 

by § 2001 of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act 

(P.L. 111-148 as amended by P.L. 111-152)) divided the 

coverage assessment amount ] by (ii) the total net patient 

service revenue for hospitals subject to the assessment. [ The 

coverage assessment amount used in the quarterly 

calculation of the coverage assessment percentage shall 

include a reconciliation of the Health Care Coverage 

Assessment Fund prescribed in subdivision D 4 of this 

section and subtract all prior quarterly coverage assessments 

paid for that fiscal year before dividing the remainder by the 

remaining quarters in the fiscal year. ]  

3. DMAS shall, at a minimum, update the coverage 

assessment amount [ to be effective on January 1 of each 

year. DMAS is further authorized to update the coverage 

assessment amount on a quarterly basis whenever the full 

cost of expanded Medicaid coverage is updated in 

subdivision D 4 of this section or when necessary ] to ensure 

[ the total coverage assessment ] amounts are sufficient to 

cover the full cost of expanded Medicaid coverage [ for the 

state fiscal year ] based on the latest estimate [ of the 

coverage assessment amount ]. Hospitals shall be given no 

less than [ 30 days' a 15-day ] notice prior to [ the beginning 

of the quarter with associated calculations supporting the ] 

change in [ their the hospital's ] coverage assessment amount 

[ and shall be provided with associated calculations ]. Prior 

to any change to the coverage assessment amount, DMAS 
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shall perform and incorporate a reconciliation of the Health 

Care Coverage Assessment Fund [ through the most recent 

complete quarter ]. Any estimated excess or shortfall of 

revenue [ since the previous reconciliation ] shall be 

deducted from or added to the [ full cost of expanded 

Medicaid coverage for the updated ] coverage assessment 

amount. 

4. The full cost of expanded Medicaid coverage shall be 

updated (i) on November 1 of each year based on the official 

Medicaid forecast and latest administrative cost estimates 

developed by DMAS; (ii) no more than 30 days after the 

enactment of any Appropriation Act to reflect policy 

changes adopted by the latest session of the General 

Assembly; and (iii) on March 1 of any year in which DMAS 

estimates that the most recent [ non-federal nonfederal ] 

share of the full cost of expanded Medicaid coverage 

multiplied by [ 1.08 a multiplier determined by the General 

Assembly ] will be insufficient to pay all expenses for the 

full cost of expanded Medicaid coverage. 

5. The coverage assessment shall be used only to cover the 

nonfederal share of the full cost of expanded Medicaid 

coverage. 

6. Hospitals subject to the coverage assessment shall make 

quarterly payments to DMAS equal to 25% of the 

[ hospital's ] annual coverage assessment amount. The 

assessment payments are due not later than the first day of 

each quarter. In the first year, the first coverage assessment 

payment shall be due on or after October 1, 2018. Hospitals 

that fail to make the coverage assessment payments within 

30 days of the due date shall incur a 5.0% penalty that shall 

be deposited into the Virginia Health Care Fund. Any unpaid 

coverage assessment or penalty will be considered a debt to 

the Commonwealth, and DMAS is authorized to recover it 

as such. 

E. Health care provider payment rate assessment. Private 

acute care hospitals operating in Virginia shall pay a provider 

payment rate assessment beginning on or after October 1, 

2018. 

Proceeds from the provider payment rate assessment shall be 

disbursed to fund an increase in inpatient and outpatient 

payment rates paid to private acute care hospitals operating in 

Virginia up to the upper payment limit and the managed care 

organization hospital payment gap for care provided to 

recipients of [ Virginia ] medical assistance services.  

1. DMAS will calculate each hospital's payment rate 

assessment by multiplying the payment rate assessment 

percentage times net patient service revenue. 

2. The payment rate assessment percentage for covered 

hospitals will be calculated as [ (i) 1.08 a percentage 

determined by the General Assembly and published on the 

DMAS website at: https://dmas.virginia.gov/media/3553/co

verage-assessment-multiplier.docx times ] the nonfederal 

share of funding [ of ] the [ upper payment limit gap and the 

managed care organization hospital payment gap private 

acute care hospital enhanced payments ] divided by [ (ii) ] 

the total net patient service revenue for [ covered 

qualifying ] hospitals. 

3. DMAS is authorized to update the payment rate 

assessment amount on a quarterly basis to ensure amounts 

are sufficient to cover the full cost of the private acute care 

hospital enhanced payments [ for the calendar quarter ] 

based on the [ latest estimate department's quarterly claims 

and encounter data ]. Hospitals shall be given no less than 

[ 30 days a 15-day ] prior notice of the new assessment 

amount and be provided with calculations. Prior to any 

change to the payment rate assessment amount, DMAS shall 

perform and incorporate a reconciliation of the Health Care 

Provider Payment Rate Assessment Fund. Any estimated 

excess or shortfall of revenue since the previous 

reconciliation shall be deducted from or added to the 

calculation of the private acute care hospital enhanced 

payments. 

4. As part of the development of the managed care capitation 

rates, DMAS shall calculate a managed care organization 

supplemental hospital capitation payment adjustment. This 

is a distinct additional amount added to Medicaid MCO 

capitation rates to pay the managed care organization 

hospital payment gap as supplemental payments to covered 

private acute care hospitals operating in Virginia for services 

to [ Virginia ] Medicaid recipients. [ DMAS shall make 

available quarterly a report of the additional capitation 

payments that are made to each MCO. ]  

5. [ Hospitals subject to the assessment shall make quarterly 

payments to DMAS equal to 25% of the annual provider 

payment rate assessment amount. ] The [ payment rate ] 

assessment payments are due not later than [ the first day of 

each quarter August 15, November 15, February 15, and 

May 15 of each state fiscal year ]. In the first year, the first 

[ payment rate ] assessment payment shall be due on or after 

October 1, 2018. Hospitals that fail to make the 

[ payment rate ] assessment payments [ within 30 days of on 

or before ] the due date shall incur a 5.0% penalty that shall 

be deposited into the Virginia Health Care Fund. Any unpaid 

[ payment rate ] assessment or penalty will be considered a 

debt to the Commonwealth, and DMAS is authorized to 

recover it as such. 

F. Collection of the assessments. DMAS is responsible for 

collecting the assessments.  

1. All revenue from the coverage assessment, excluding 

penalties shall be deposited into a special nonreverting fund 

to be known as the Health Care Coverage Assessment Fund 

pursuant to § 32.1-331.01 of the Code of Virginia. Proceeds 

from the Health Care Coverage Assessment Fund shall not 

be used for any other purpose than to cover the nonfederal 
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share of the full cost of [ enhanced expanded ] Medicaid 

coverage. 

2. All revenue from the provider payment rate assessment, 

excluding penalties, shall be deposited into a special 

nonreverting fund to be known as the Health Care Provider 

Payment Rate Assessment Fund pursuant to § 32.1-331.02 

of the Code of Virginia. Proceeds from the Health Care 

Provider Payment Rate Assessment Fund shall not be used 

for any other purpose than to fund an increase in inpatient 

and outpatient payment rates paid to private acute care 

hospitals operating in Virginia up to the private hospital 

upper payment limit or managed care organization hospital 

payment gap for care provided to recipients of medical 

assistance services and the administrative costs of collecting 

the assessment and of implementing and operating the 

associated payment rate actions. 

[ 3. DMAS will submit reports as required by the 

Appropriations Act. The reports will include, for the most 

recently completed state fiscal year, the revenue collected 

from each assessment, expenditures for purposes covered by 

each assessment, and the year-end assessment balances in 

each special nonreverting fund. The report shall include a 

complete and itemized list of all administrative costs 

included in the coverage assessment. ]  

G. Appeal. A covered hospital may appeal a DMAS action 

that falls within the definition of agency action under the 

Virginia Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia), including DMAS's interpretation and 

application of assessment methodologies. The assessment 

methodologies cannot be appealed.  

1. Appeals will be conducted in accordance with the 

provider appeal regulations [ (12VAC30-20) (12VAC30-20-

500 et seq.) ].  

2. A covered hospital shall be considered a provider for 

purposes of the appeal procedures set forth in the provider 

appeal regulations.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5591; Filed November 8, 2024, 7:53 a.m. 

  –––––––––––––––––– 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-30. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Advanced Practice Registered Nurses 

(amending 18VAC90-30-125). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 1, 2025. 

Effective Date: January 16, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Claire Morris, RN, Executive Director, Board 

of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4665, or email 

claire.morris@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations of the Boards of Nursing and Medicine are 

promulgated under the general authority § 54.1-2400 of the 

Code of Virginia, which specifically states that the general 

powers and duties of health regulatory boards shall be to 

promulgate regulations. 

Purpose: The rationale for this action is to conform the 

regulation governing clinical nurse specialist practice 

agreements to reflect Chapter 197 of the 2022 Acts of 

Assembly. This regulatory change is essential to protect the 

health, safety, and welfare of citizens because the General 

Assembly has determined certain clinical nurse specialists do 

not need to practice under a practice agreement, and the 

reduction of that burden may increase the numbers of clinical 

nurse specialists working in the Commonwealth. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

action mirrors changes to statute and provides no discretion on 

the part of the agency or boards in the changes. Therefore, this 

action will not be controversial and is appropriate for the fast-

track rulemaking process. 

Substance: 18VAC90-30-125 is amended to eliminate the need 

for clinical nurse specialists to practice with a practice 

agreement provided the clinical nurse specialists meet the 

requirements found in Chapter 197 of the 2022 Acts of 

Assembly. The amendments to the regulation use language 

found in the statute. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the public, including 

businesses such as hospitals, include being able to utilize the 

skills and training of clinical nurse specialists who do not 

prescribe controlled substances or devices without requiring a 

practice agreement. There are no disadvantages to the public. 

There are no primary advantages or disadvantages to the 

agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 197 of the 2022 Acts of Assembly,2 the 

Boards of Nursing and Medicine (boards) propose to indicate 

that a clinical nurse specialist (CNS) who does not prescribe 

mailto:@claire.morris@dhp.virginia.gov
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controlled substances or devices does not need to practice 

pursuant to a practice agreement. 

Background. Prior to July 1, 2021, CNSs were registered with 

the Board of Nursing. They worked without supervision as 

advanced practice registered nurses according to their scope of 

practice. In order to allow CNSs to apply for prescriptive 

authority, Chapter 157 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly, Special 

Session I3 required all CNSs to be jointly licensed by the 

Boards of Nursing and Medicine as nurse practitioners. 

According to the Department of Health Professions (DHP), 

this created an unintended consequence because the change 

also meant that all CNSs would be required to have a practice 

agreement with a licensed physician. A practice agreement was 

required even if a CNS did not want to practice with 

prescriptive authority, and DHP indicates that not all CNS 

licensees were seeking prescriptive authority. Rather, many 

CNSs focus on psychological-mental health where they do not 

prescribe, and the profession has the statutory authority4 to bill 

the Department of Medical Assistance Services as independent 

providers. Chapter 197 of the 2022 Acts of Assembly 

eliminated the unintended consequence by stipulating that a 

CNS who does not prescribe controlled substances or devices 

may practice without a practice agreement. Between the 

effective date of the 2021 legislation (July 1, 2021) and the 

effective date of the 2022 legislation (July 1, 2022), the 

unintended consequence was temporarily resolved by adding 

language to the 2021 Special Session II Appropriation Act that 

allowed CNS to practice without a practice agreement if they 

practiced without prescriptive authority.5 The budget language, 

which expired June 30, 2022, was added at the request of DHP 

after hearing concerns from the CNS community and 

representatives from the Virginia Association of Clinical 

Nurse Specialists who were concerned about the new 

requirement for all CNS to practice under a practice agreement. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed additional text for 

the regulation is identical to the text in the 2022 legislation. 

Thus, the only impact in practice is to better inform readers of 

the regulation as toward the actual requirements for CNS 

practice. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. Hospitals or other 

health care entities that employ nurse practitioners licensed in 

the category of clinical nurse specialists who do not prescribe 

controlled substances are affected by the legislation in that it 

allows these practitioners to work without practice agreements. 

The Virginia Department of Health licenses 105 inpatient 

hospitals and 70 outpatient surgical hospitals.6 There are 399 

licensed nurse practitioners in the category of clinical nurse 

specialists in Virginia.7 The board does not have data on the 

number of whom do not prescribe controlled substances or 

devices. The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether 

an adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.8 

An adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net 

cost or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the 

benefits exceed the costs for all entities combined. The 

proposed amendments match statutory text; consequently, they 

neither increase net cost nor reduce net revenue. Thus, no 

adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses9 Affected.10 The proposed amendments do 

not adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities11 Affected.12 The proposed amendments neither 

disproportionally affect any particular localities, nor introduce 

costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. As the 

proposed amendments match statute, the use and value of 

private property is not affected. Additionally, the proposed 

amendments do not affect real estate development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?221+ful+CHAP0197. 

3 See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?212+ful+CHAP0157. 

4 See § 32.1-325 F of the Code of Virginia: 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title32.1/chapter10/section32.1-325/#v2/. 

5 See Items I 1 and I 2 at https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-

bin/legp604.exe?213+ful+HB7001. 

6 Data source: Virginia Department of Health. 

7 Data source: Department of Health Professions. 

8 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

9 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

10 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

11 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?221+ful+CHAP0197
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?212+ful+CHAP0157
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title32.1/chapter10/section32.1-325/#v2/
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?213+ful+HB7001
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?213+ful+HB7001
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12 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of 

Nursing concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 197 of the 2022 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments allow a clinical nurse specialist who does not 

prescribe controlled substances or devices to practice 

without a written or electronic practice agreement. 

18VAC90-30-125. Practice of nurse practitioners advanced 

practice registered nurses licensed as in the category of 

clinical advanced practice registered nurses nurse 

specialist. 

A. Advanced practice registered nurses licensed in the 

category of clinical nurse specialist who prescribe controlled 

substances or devices shall practice in consultation with a 

licensed physician in accordance with a practice agreement 

between the advanced practice registered nurse and the 

licensed physician. 

B. Such practice agreement shall address the availability of 

the physician for routine and urgent consultation on patient 

care. Evidence of a practice agreement shall be maintained by 

an advanced practice registered nurse and provided to the 

boards upon request. 

C. Advanced practice registered nurses licensed in the 

category of clinical nurse specialist who do not prescribe 

controlled substances or devices may practice in the category 

in which the advanced practice registered nurse is certified 

without a written or electronic practice agreement. Such 

advanced practice registered nurse shall:  

1. Only practice within the scope of the advanced practice 

registered nurse's clinical and professional training and 

limits of the advanced practice registered nurse's knowledge 

and experience and consistent with the applicable standards 

of care;  

2. Consult and collaborate with other health care providers 

based on the clinical condition of the patient to whom health 

care is provided; and  

3. Establish a plan for referral of complex medical cases and 

emergencies to physicians or other appropriate health care 

providers. 

D. The practice of clinical nurse specialists shall be consistent 

with the standards of care for the profession and with 

applicable laws and regulations. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7304; Filed October 30, 2024, 1:49 p.m. 
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Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER FORTY-TWO (2024) 

Catalyzing Housing Development for Critical 
Workforce and Economic Development Needs with 

Interagency Collaboration 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor, I hereby 

issue this Executive Order to strengthen our Commonwealth's 

support of Virginia's economy by aligning economic 

development with housing plans and development, including 

the provision of housing for workforce needs. 

Importance of the Initiative 

Since 2022, because of our efforts to improve Virginia's ability 

to compete for private sector jobs and capital, Virginia now 

ranks among the top ten states for overall job growth1 with 

nearly 250,0002 more jobs filled today and more than $85 

billion in new capital commitments from employers locating 

or expanding operations in the Commonwealth.3 In a reversal 

of recent net migration trends, more people are moving into the 

Commonwealth of Virginia than are moving out.4 

Maintaining Virginia's economic growth requires increased 

housing development5, yet the housing market has been 

constrained by limited supply6, burdensome regulation7, 

increasing construction costs,8 and high interest rates.9 

Virginia is lagging in housing supply to adequately meet 

sustained employment growth recorded in the past few years. 

According to analysis from Virginia Housing and the Virginia 

Economic Development Partnership (VEDP), Virginia's metro 

areas are building new units at a lower rate compared to metro 

areas in economic competitor states. Metro areas outside of 

Virginia have not only outpaced housing stock growth in 

Virginia's metro areas, but they are also outpacing the 

Commonwealth's metro areas in issuing permits for new 

residential units.  

In aggregate, Virginia has a housing supply of approximately 

3.6 million units,10 short of total housing demand of 4.1 million 

units.11 Virginia needs to build another 550,000 units to meet 

current demand, as well as 30,000 per year to match the state's 

growth. 

Housing development in Virginia is proceeding at half the rate 

of job growth. For workforce housing specifically, the current 

estimated shortfall is 41,000 homes.12 Virginia's economic 

growth demands more supply of housing, especially workforce 

housing. 

We must further our efforts to increase the supply of housing, 

especially workforce housing, reduce regulatory burdens 

which drive up the cost of construction, and align housing 

development with economic growth. 

The Virginia Business Ready Sites Program administered by 

the Virginia Economic Development Partnership has begun to 

incorporate housing supply into their analysis and will now 

require economic development organizations seeking grant 

funding to provide housing plans for nearby localities to be 

prepared to develop sufficient housing in support of resulting 

jobs. 

We have improved our building codes—our Administration, 

led by the Department of Housing and Community 

Development, has reduced the cost of new home construction 

by approximately $24,000 per unit.13 

Additionally, through the Virginia Permitting Transparency 

system, formalized by Executive Order 39 (2024), the 

improvement in state permit processing time delivers real 

results for housing construction. For example, new housing 

developments often require state environmental permits from 

the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ). 

DEQ is now clearing permits 70 percent faster on average than 

before the start of our Administration.14 

Localities, which control zoning and planning, and where 

control of the vast majority of housing development permits 

and regulation resides, must drive similar processing time 

improvements. 

We have prioritized infrastructure investments that support 

housing as well, including delivering broadband to over 

130,000 previously unserved homes and businesses—a nation-

leading figure.15 

And, finally, today, our Administration announced the all-new 

Workforce Housing Investment Program, administered by 

Virginia Housing, which will invest $75 million over five years 

with the potential to catalyze $750 million and 5,000 units of 

workforce housing development near major announcements of 

new jobs. 

The Workforce Housing Investment Program will catalyze 

investment in housing construction for Virginia families near 

reliable, high-paying jobs. Virginia Housing will provide 

loans, loan subsidies, and grants up to $3 million to localities 

and non-profits to develop housing for workers earning 80-120 

percent of area median income, and 150 percent in rural areas. 

To be eligible for investment, a locality must be within a 30-

minute drive of a business adding new jobs: 100 for a non-

distressed locality, 50 for a distressed locality, and 25 for a 

double distressed locality. 

Virginia must not only continue to support the supply of 

affordable housing, but also accelerate the development of 

workforce housing statewide to support the employees filling 

new jobs. 

Economic development for new and expanding business sites 

must consider all aspects of necessary site infrastructure, 

including housing for workers and their families. Business site 

investment decisions shall include nearby localities' plans to 

foster housing development with economic growth. 
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To formalize and make permanent our practice of aligning 

housing support with economic site development investment, 

this Executive Order integrates the provision of housing for 

critical workforce needs with economic development by 

adapting how the state invests in business-ready sites, pairing 

those investments with housing plans in nearby communities. 

Directive 

Accordingly, pursuant to the authority vested in me as Chief 

Executive Officer of the Commonwealth and pursuant to 

Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and the laws of the 

Commonwealth, I hereby direct the Virginia Economic 

Development Partnership and the Department of Housing and 

Community Development to develop a Memorandum of 

Understanding with the Virginia Housing Development 

Authority to do the following: 

1. Integrate housing plans into the Virginia Business Ready 

Sites Program by requiring localities applying for funds to 

include a housing plan to match the job potential of each site. 

2. Collaborate on the Virginia Workforce Housing Investment 

Program. 

Effective Date 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 

shall remain in force and effect unless amended or rescinded 

by a future executive order or directive. Given under my hand 

and under the Seal of the Commonwealth of Virginia, this 14th 

day of November, 2024. 

/s/ Glenn Youngkin, Governor 

____________________________ 

1 U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, "Labor Area Unemployment Statistics," 

https://www.bls.gov/lau/. 

2 US, Bureau of Labor Statistics, "Current Employment Statistics Survey," 

https:/www.bls.gov/ces/. 

3 Virginia Economic Development Partnership database of assisted and 

unassisted new jobs announced since 2022. 

4 U.S. Census Bureau, "State to State Migration Flows," 

https://www.census.gov/data/tables/time-series/demo/geographic-

mobility/state-to-state-migration.html. 

5 Chmura Economics, "Housing as an Economic Development Strategy for 

Virginia," virginiahousing.com. 

6 Virginia REALTORS, "Virginia Home Sales Report: September 2024" 

virginiarealtors.org/research/reports: 

7 The Pew Charitable Trusts, "How Restrictive Zoning in Virginia Has Hurt 

Housing Affordability," https://www.pewtrusts.org/en/research-and-

analysis/articles/2024/01/22/how-restrictive-zoning-in-virginia-has-hurt-

housing-affordability. 

8 National Association of Homebuilders, "Material Costs Affect Housing 

Affordability," https://www.nahb.org/advocacy/top-priorities/material-costs; 

Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, "Producer Price Index by Commodity: 

Inputs to Industries: Net Inputs to Residential Construction, Goods," 

https://fred.stlouisfed.org/series/WPU1P2311001. 

9 U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, "Data Spotlight: The Impact of 

Changing Mortgage Interest Rates," https://www.consumerfinance.gov/data-

research/research-reports/data-spotlight-the-impact-of-changing-mortgage-

interest-rates/; Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, "30-Year Fixed Rate 

Mortgage Average in the United States," 

https://fredstlouisfed.org/series/MORTGAGE30US. 

10 CoreLogic MarketTrends, https://www.corelogic.com/real-estate/housing-

trends/. 

11 Analysis performed by the Department of Housing and Community 

Development utilizing data from CoreLogic, the American Community 

Survey, and Comprehensive Housing Affordability Survey. 

12 Analysis performed by the Department of Housing and Community 

Development utilizing data from sources including CoreLogic, the American 

Community Survey, and Comprehensive Housing Affordability Survey. 

13 Analysis performed by the Department of Housing and Community 

Development. 

14 Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, "Virginia Permit 

Transparency and Permitting Enhancement and Evaluation Platform," 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/get-involved/virginia-permit-transparency -

and-permitting-enhancement-and-evaluation-platform. 

15 Data from Virginia Office of Broadband. 

https://www.bls.gov/lau
https://www.bls.gov/ces/
https://www.census.gov/data/tables/time-series/demo/geographic-mobility/state-to-state-migration.html
https://www.census.gov/data/tables/time-series/demo/geographic-mobility/state-to-state-migration.html
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/418/Governor/virginiahousing.com
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/418/Governor/virginiarealtors.org/research/reports
https://www.pewtrusts.org/en/research-and-analysis/articles/2024/01/22/how-restrictive-zoning-in-virginia-has-hurt-housing-affordability
https://www.pewtrusts.org/en/research-and-analysis/articles/2024/01/22/how-restrictive-zoning-in-virginia-has-hurt-housing-affordability
https://www.pewtrusts.org/en/research-and-analysis/articles/2024/01/22/how-restrictive-zoning-in-virginia-has-hurt-housing-affordability
https://www.nahb.org/advocacy/top-priorities/material-costs
https://fred.stlouisfed.org/series/WPU1P2311001
https://www.consumerfinance.gov/data-research/research-reports/data-spotlight-the-impact-of-changing-mortgage-interest-rates/
https://www.consumerfinance.gov/data-research/research-reports/data-spotlight-the-impact-of-changing-mortgage-interest-rates/
https://www.consumerfinance.gov/data-research/research-reports/data-spotlight-the-impact-of-changing-mortgage-interest-rates/
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/418/Governor/%20https:/fred%20stlouisfed.org/series/MORTGAGE30US
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/418/Governor/%20https:/fred%20stlouisfed.org/series/MORTGAGE30US
https://www.corelogic.com/real-estate/housing-trends/
https://www.corelogic.com/real-estate/housing-trends/
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/418/Governor/%20https:/www.deq.%20virginia.gov/get-involved/virginia-permit-transparency%20-and-permitting-enhancement-and-evaluation-platform
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/418/Governor/%20https:/www.deq.%20virginia.gov/get-involved/virginia-permit-transparency%20-and-permitting-enhancement-and-evaluation-platform
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/418/Governor/%20https:/www.deq.%20virginia.gov/get-involved/virginia-permit-transparency%20-and-permitting-enhancement-and-evaluation-platform
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth 

Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

VIRGINIA ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 
AUTHORITY 

Title of Document: Circular Letter 24-01: Charitable 

Donations. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 1, 2025. 

Effective Date: January 2, 2025. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior Legal 

Counsel, Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 7450 

Freight Way, Mechanicsville, VA 23116, telephone (804) 213-

4698, or email latonya.hucks-watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: Plan First Manual - Chapter 4. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 1, 2025. 

Effective Date: January 2, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Policy Division Director, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, or 

email emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for deletion and the listed agencies have opened up a 30-day public 

comment period. The listed agencies had previously identified these documents as certified guidance documents, pursuant to § 

2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

guidance document to view the deleted document and comment. This information is also available on the Virginia Regulatory 

Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the agency contact. 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Titles of Documents: Data Disk Procedures and Vehicle 

Inspection Report Voiding Process. 

Memorandum of Agreement between the Department of 

Mines, Minerals, and Energy and the Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

PM 10 Sampler Standard Operating Procedure. 

Professional Responsibilities and Conduct of Mobile Source 

Operations Staff. 

Quality Assurance Project Plan for the Carbon Monoxide 

Ambient Air Monitoring Program. 

Quality Assurance Project Plan for the Carbon Monoxide 

Ambient Air Monitoring Program - Appendices. 

Quality Assurance Project Plan for Lead-TSP Ambient Air 

Monitoring Program. 

Quality Assurance Project Plan for Lead-TSP Ambient Air 

Monitoring Program - Appendices. 

 

 

Quality Assurance Project Plan for the Nitrogen Oxides 

Ambient Air Monitoring Program. 

Quality Assurance Project Plan for the Nitrogen Oxides 

Ambient Air Monitoring Program - Appendices. 

Quality Assurance Project Plan for the Ozone Ambient Air 

Monitoring Program. 

Quality Assurance Project Plan for the PM2.5 Ambient Air 

Monitoring Program. 

Quality Assurance Project Plan for the Sulfur Dioxide Ambient 

Air Monitoring Program. 

Quality Assurance Project Plan for the Sulfur Dioxide Ambient 

Air Monitoring Program - Appendices. 

Sample MACT Place Holder Conditions. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 1, 2025. 

Effective Date: January 2, 2025. 

 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/999/GDoc_ABC_7919_20241108.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/999/GDoc_ABC_7919_20241108.pdf
mailto:latonya.hucks-watkins@virginiaabc.com
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_7762_20240910.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/418/GuidanceDocs/emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
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Agency Contact: Sam Jasinski, Policy Specialist, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 659-2655, or email 

samuel.jasinski@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Title of Document: Memorandum of Agreement between the 

Department of Mines, Minerals, and Energy and the 

Department of Environmental Quality. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 1, 2025. 

Effective Date: January 2, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Sam Jasinski, Policy Specialist, Department 

of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 659-2655, or email 

samuel.jasinski@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE 

Title of Document: Community Policing Data Instructions and 

Technical Specification 5.3 with Form. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 1, 2025. 

Effective Date: January 2, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Thomas Lambert, Director, Office of Legal 

Affairs, Virginia State Police, Virginia State Police 

Headquarters, 7700 Midlothian Turnpike, Suite 1200, 

Chesterfield, VA 23235, telephone (804) 674-6722, or email 

tom.lambert@vsp.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Titles of Documents: Implementation Guidance for July 2000 

Revisions to the VPDES Permit Regulation. 

Implementation Guidance for December 2000 Revisions to the 

VPDES Permit Regulation. 

Interpretation for Water Monitoring of GM00-2016 - Chain of 

Custody Policy and Procedures - Amendment 1. 

Permitting Strategy for Wood Preserving Operations. 

Permitting Strategy for Wood Preserving Operations - 

Amendment 1. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 1, 2025. 

Effective Date: January 2, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Nelson Daniel, Water Policy Analyst, 

Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-1752, or email 

nelson.daniel@deq.virginia.gov. 

mailto:samuel.jasinski@deq.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2607
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mailto:tom.lambert@vsp.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2610
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2610
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General Notices 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Revisions to the Science Standards of Learning 
Available for Public Review 

The Department of Education is finalizing the 2025 Science 

Standards of Learning expansion process that focus on 

secondary science courses for use in public schools. The State 

Board of Education intends to conduct an initial review of the 

2025 Science Standards of Learning at its December 2024 

meeting. The 2025 Science Standards of Learning will be made 

available for public review and comment via the department's 

website. The board expects to take final action on the proposed 

2025 Science Standards of Learning at its February 2025 

meeting. Additional information is available at 

https://www.doe.virginia.gov/teaching-learning-assessment/ 

instruction/science. 

Contact Information: Jim Chapman, Director of Board 

Relations, Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 

101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 750-8750, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

Finalized 2023 Mathematics Essentialized Standards 
of Learning Available for Public Review 

The Department of Education is finalizing the 2023 

Mathematics Essentialized Standards of Learning process. The 

Mathematics Essentialized Standards of Learning serve as 

alternate academic achievement standards for students with the 

most significant cognitive disabilities. The State Board of 

Education intends to conduct an initial review of the 2023 

Mathematics Essentialized Standards of Learning at its 

December 2024 meeting. The 2023 Mathematics Essentialized 

Standards of Learning will be made available for public review 

and comment via the department's website. The board expects 

to take final action on the proposed 2023 Mathematics 

Essentialized Standards of Learning at its February 2025 

meeting. Additional information is available at 

https://www.doe.virginia.gov/teaching-learning-assessment/ 

student-assessment/virginia-sol-assessment-program/ 

virginia-alternate-assessment-program-vaap. 

Contact Information: Jim Chapman, Director of Board 

Relations, Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 

101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 750-8750, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Amelia Energy Facility LLC Notice of Intent for a 
Small Renewable Energy Project (Solar) - Amelia 

County 

Amelia Energy Facility LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documents for a permit by rule for a 106-megawatt 

alternating current small renewable energy project (solar) in 

Amelia County, Virginia, pursuant to 9VAC15-60. The project 

name is Amelia Solar Buckskin Road Solar Project, and the 

developer is Torch Clean Energy. The DEQ project number is 

RE0000334.The Amelia Solar Buckskin Road Solar Project 

will be located at 5540 – 5300 Buckskin Creek Road, 

Jetersville, Virginia, with a geographic information system 

(GIS) centroid of Latitude 37.279089, Longitude -78.039358. 

The project will encompass approximately 1,100 acres with a 

disturbance zone of up to 750 acres with approximately 

195,000 photovoltaic modules. 

Contact Information: Amber Foster, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 774-8474, email 

amber.foster@deq.virginia.gov. 

Withdrawn - Notice of Intent for a Small Renewable 
Energy Project (Solar) - Isle of Wight County 

The notice of intent submitted March 29, 2016, by Ecoplexus 

Inc. for Smithfield Solar Farm, a planned 14-megawatt project 

on a 122-acre parcel located in Isle of Wight County, was 

withdrawn on October 30, 2024. The DEQ project number was 

RE0000009. The notice of intent was posted to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall on March 30, 2016, and published in 

the Virginia Register of Regulations on May 2, 2016. 

Contact Information: Matthew Snow, Small Renewable 

Energy Permit by Rule Program Specialist, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 718-9569, or email 

matthew.a.snow@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for US Infra Rehab 
Services LLC 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

a proposing an enforcement action for US Infra Rehab Services 

LLC for violations of State Water Control Law and regulations 

in Roanoke County. The proposed order is available from the 

DEQ contact or at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/ 

public-notices/enforcement-actions. The DEQ contact will 

accept written comments from December 2, 2024, to January 

1, 2025. 

Contact Information: Kristen Sadtler, Enforcement Coordinator, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, or email kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov. 
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Opportunity for Public Comment - Cleanup Study 
for James, Maury, and Jackson Rivers 

Purpose of Notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) seeks public comment on edits to a draft cleanup study, 

also known as a total maximum daily load (TMDL) report, for 

the James, Maury, and Jackson Rivers in Albemarle, 

Alleghany, Amherst, Appomattox, Augusta, Bath, Bedford, 

Botetourt, Buckingham, Campbell, Chesterfield, Craig, 

Cumberland, Fluvanna, Giles, Goochland, Greene, Hanover, 

Henrico, Highland, Montgomery, Nelson, Powhatan, and 

Roanoke Counties and Buena Vista, Charlottesville, 

Covington, Lexington, Lynchburg, and Richmond Cities. 

At the final public meeting on February 15, 2024, DEQ 

presented the results of the study and provided an overview of 

the draft report. In response to feedback received, changes have 

been made to polychlorinated biphenyls (PCB) baseline loads 

and wasteload allocations (WLAs), as well as other 

components of the document. This notice is to invite citizens 

to provide comment on the revised study. This project affects 

streams located within the territories of DEQ's Blue Ridge, 

Valley, and Piedmont Regional Offices. These streams are 

listed as impaired since monitoring data does not meet 

Virginia's water quality standards for PCBs in fish tissue. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C of 

the State Water Control Law require DEQ to develop cleanup 

studies to address pollutants responsible for causing waters to 

be on Virginia's § 303(d) list of impaired waters. A component 

of a cleanup study is the WLA; therefore, this notice is 

provided pursuant to § 2.2-4006 A 14 of the Code of Virginia 

for adoption of the WLA into the Water Quality Management 

Planning Regulation (9VAC25-720) after completion of the 

study. The adoption of the WLA may require new or additional 

requirements for entities holding a Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) permit in the James, 

Maury, and Jackson Rivers watersheds. 

Cleanup Study Location: The study area totals 4,342,969 acres 

(approximately 6,786 square miles), and consists of four 

TMDL watersheds, the Jackson River, Maury River, Upper 

James River study area (from the head of the James near Iron 

Gate to the Bent Creek confluence), and Lower James River 

study area (from the Bent Creek confluence to I-95 James 

River Bridge in Richmond). 

Public Comment Period: December 2, 2024, to January 6, 

2025. 

How to Comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email or 

postal mail. All comments must be received by DEQ during 

the comment period. Submittals must include the name, 

organization represented (if any), mailing addresses, and 

telephone numbers of the commenter or requester. 

Contact Information: Karen Kline, Department of Environmental 

Quality, Blue Ridge Regional Office, 901 Russel Drive, Salem, 

VA 24153, telephone (540) 676-5573, or email 

karen.kline@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Public Comment Period - § 1115 
Demonstration Waiver Amendment 

Pursuant to 42 CFR § 431.408, notice is hereby given that the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) is 

seeking to amend its Medicaid § 1115 demonstration waiver 

entitled "Building and Transforming Coverage, Services, and 

Supports for a Healthier Virginia" and submit the amendment 

to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) 

December 2024. 

DMAS is providing an opportunity for the public to review and 

provide input on the demonstration amendment application 

through December 11, 2024. 

The current demonstration is scheduled to expire on December 

31, 2024, and a renewal application to extend the current 

demonstration for five years was submitted to CMS on August 

2, 2024. The current § 1115 demonstration waiver, as well as 

the renewal application submitted to CMS, includes two 

programs. The two current components of the § 1115 

demonstration waiver are the substance use disorder (SUD) 

institutes of mental disease (IMD) and Former Foster Care 

Youth (FFCY) programs. With this amendment application, 

Virginia seeks waiver authority for serious mental illness 

(SMI) IMD coverage in response to an opportunity announced 

to states via a State Medicaid Director letter in 2018. 

The full public notice and draft amendment application are 

available at https://dmas.virginia.gov/about-us/1115-

demonstration-waiver/. View the public notice at 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/media/jjbpbmyw/smi-1115-

long-notice_v3.pdf. View the draft amendment application at 

https://dmas.virginia.gov/media/mp5jmdoz/smi_1115_waiver

_draft_11_7_24.pdf. DMAS will also send the notice out to an 

electronic list of over 200,000 providers, members, and 

stakeholders. Public comment may be submitted via the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments must 

be received no later than 11:59 p.m. on December 11, 2024. 

DMAS will hold a public hearing where verbal or written 

public comments can be submitted. All verbal public 

comments should be limited to two minutes each. Here is the 

information to participate in the public hearing:  

Board of Medical Assistance Services Meeting, Tuesday, 

December 10, 2024, 10:00 a.m. to noon. 

In-person attendance: Conference Rooms 102 A and B, 600 

East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219. 

Virtual Attendance: 

https://covaconf.webex.com/covaconf/j.php?MTID=m84dcab

39c35d54a04fd706b0bf1ac836. 
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After considering public comments about the proposed 

demonstration amendment application, DMAS will make final 

decisions about the demonstration and submit a revised 

application to CMS. Additional information about this 

demonstration is also available on the CMS website at 

https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/section-1115-

demo/demonstration-and-waiver-list/index.html. 

Contact Information: Lisa Jobe-Shields, Director, Behavioral 

Health Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

814-9216, or email lisa.jobe-shields@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 
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